Hiking up the Schiehallion mountain before the rain. The mountain that established the mass of earth in 1774.

in #bouldersunday5 years ago (edited)

image

I was debating with myself yesterday whenever to go hiking at all on Sunday. I looked through the whole of Scotland's weather to find any place to go hiking without getting battered by the weather. I decided to hike up the Schiehallion one if the Munros the Scottish highest mountains. The Schiehallion hill was used in 1774 in an experiment that established the mass of the earth for the first time.

image

image

image

image

image

After a decent path, there was a steep bouldary shoulder of the hill to climb.

image

image

image

The summit was full of borders big and small. I had to be very careful when balancing on them.

image

image

image

When got to the top the sun came out.

image

image

image

image

I know the torrential rain will be coming soon so let's run down.

image

image

image

image

One last look behind.

image

As I started driving some heavy rain came that the cars had to stop on the highway. I am glad to be sitting in my car.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Wow, where is that?

In Scotland by Blair Athol 😀

What an epic hike! Great views! I bet the air was so fresh and cool. Great share, thank you.

Thank you it was nice and refreshing a wee breeze

Congratulations @highlandwalker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

While I truly have no desire to visit Europe, in general, and not because of anything other than there so many places in the US and Canada I have not visited yet. Of all places in Europe, I definitely would love to go to Scotland because of posts and pictures like this. And I got a little Scottish in me with the red beard. Lol.

I'm including my Mount St Helens, Washington USA picture for visual affects.

Mt St Helens 2004 046.jpg

This is a beautiful mountain. I would like to go and see it. Good luck on your adventures.

😊Fantastic photos...! Wow... so very beautiful
@highlandwalker
:D

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @macchiata.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

What a fantastic hike and so many wonderful boulders along the
way, such a grand view!
Thank you @highlandwalker for showing this awesome place! :-)

That’s a nice hike!! So good to be among the mountains!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love the mountains. Thank you

You got a 2.03% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @highlandwalker! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11