Boulder Sunday - Dinosaur Tracks

in #bouldersunday5 years ago

For Boulder Sunday this week I wanted to re-visit a special place in Utah just north of Cedar City called Parowan Gap. It's a fault zone of sedimentary rock that broke off from the main host and rose above the surrounding valley floor. During that slow rise a stream cut through rock and helped weather out some dinosaur tracks! There are several boulders scattered across the small valley with tracks in them. 

This boulder is one of the first you come upon when you enter the sight seeing spot. Unfortunately someone tried to chisel the foot print off to steal it only to end up breaking it and walking away a failure.

The tracks were made by Hadrosaurs, duck-billed dinosaurs that grazed on plants over 66 million years ago. Think about that, these tracks are that old!

The tracks come from a large sandstone cliff that eroded over millennia and dropped out these amazing boulders for us to marvel at.

If you are ever passing through Cedar City, Utah this is a place I would recommend taking a few hours to explore. It is well worth it. This whole area is stunning and next week I'll be back with the other half of the Parowan Gap attractions, petroglyph boulders!

Thanks for reading!
If you love rocks, gems and minerals check these tags & Steemians out!
#rockhound by @bitfiend
#bouldersunday by @shasta
#mineralmondays by @rt395
#fridaysrock by @nat-expressions

https://www.trontables.com

https://www.acuitas.app/

If you love gems and minerals you can visit our shops:
US - https://www.etsy.com/shop/Rt395Minerals
Japan - https://www.rt395mineralsjp.com
Sort:  

That would be a great road trip! I miss those days when I could go see these sights, but I'll add this to my list of places I would love to visit!

@melinda010100 Cedar City is an amazing jumping off point for sight-seeing. Northwest is the Parowan Gap, east is Cedar Breaks, Brianhead and Bryce Canyon and southeast is Zion National Park. All are within 1 hours drive from Cedar City. It is one place I have seriously though about moving to.

I would get in the car and go tomorrow if I could. I have not spent any time in Utah. I know I would only be disappointed when I arrived at not being able to go and do all the things that I would want to do. damn MS

Congratulations @rt395! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Howdy sir rt395! wow this is a great boulder! not many have dinosaur tracks in them!
Well done!

Thanks @janton. Yep, I thought it would be a unique boulder to blog about. I really want to go back because I didn't get to spend enough time there looking at the other boulders with tracks in them.

wow you mean there's lots of them? It seems like they'd put those in museums.

Wow you mean there's lots
Of them? It seems like they'd put
Those in museums.

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Well, in those parts dinosaur things are a dime a dozen. I'm sure they have some in the museum down in St. George.

oh I see..thanks sir rt395 for the education! It would be fun to discover undiscovered dinosaur things!

Whoa what a fantastic place with dinosaur
track boulders, wonderful photographs @rt395! :-)
A real shame someone had to hack at the
print and break it.
Sounds like a awesome place there in Cedar City
near all the good hunting areas. Went through
there back around 1993 from California to see
the sites like Bryce, Zion, Grand Canyon etc.
Sure beautiful, we should all meet there some day!
Thank you so much for using the #bouldersunday tag!

Seriously, it is a great location for rock hounding and adventure. Vegas is only a few hours away too! I will be headed back up there either this month or in June! @drpuffnstuff lives close by so he might be able to meet up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85