Bozz Grills : Turkey

in #bozzlife5 years ago

IMG_20190803_171217.jpg


I think I might have posted about this before, but it has been a long time since I have grilled a turkey breast. We usually pick them up from the grocery store when they are on sale for about $11 USD or so. One breast gives us enough food for several meals so it really is a great value.

IMG_20190803_171212.jpg


I have a barrel style grill with a smoker box on the side of it. The model is typically referred to as an offset barrel smoker. If you hang out in any of the bbq'ing forums you might see the abbreviation OBS, that is what I have.

I don't use the side smoke box for the turkey though, I am grilling it more than smoking it. It still comes out with a wonderfully smokey and char-grilled flavor, but it takes much less time than if I were to actually smoke it.

You can see I have the internal temperature around 350 degrees. That is probably misleading because most of the thermometers that come pre-installed in grills are notoriously inaccurate. Since I am not smoking the breast, I really don't care about the grill temperature as much as I care about the internal temp of the meat.

IMG_20190803_171107.jpg


That is why I use a separate meat thermometer like this. It has a probe I can put in the meat and another I can put in the grill to give me accurate readings. It also has a wireless module that I can take a fixed distance away from the grill. This allows me to sit up on my deck while I can still keep an eye on the temperature.

As soon as the internal temp of the turkey breast hit 165 I knew it was okay to pull off the grill. I probably could have pulled it off around 160 and been okay because of carry-over cooking, but when you are dealing with poultry it is better to be safe than sorry. The meat was still juicy and tender, so that extra five degrees left no ill effects.

IMG_20190803_171219.jpg


The total cook time took about 1.5 to 2 hours. I had my coals set up on one side of the grill and I put the breast on the other side of the grill above a pan filled with water. I keep the netting on the meat while it cooks just to hold everything together. After I pull it off, I use a pair of kitchen scissors to cut the netting away.

IMG_20190803_171222.jpg

IMG_20190803_173844.jpg


@mrsbozz prepped the potatoes and onions in a foil packet that I put on the grill above the coals after I pulled the turkey. We roasted the brussels sprouts in the air fryer. The end product was super tasty!

IMG_20190803_173848.jpg


I dipped my turkey in this fantastic Sriracha & Roasted Garlic BBQ sauce we got from Trader Joe's. It has super amazing flavor and a good amount of heat.

Besides deep fried turkey, this is probably my favorite way to prepare it. My mom and dad grill one this way every year for Thanksgiving now that I show them how.


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Say It With Flowers Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I never cook turkey except at the holidays. This post is reinforcing what a BIG mistake I am making. Looks delicious!

My wife doesn't eat red meat so we eat quite a bit of poultry. I have learned to do some magical things with chicken and turkey in the past 11 years.

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks really yummy. I never tried brussels sprouts as a side dish for turkey. I gotta give it a try. Thanks for the inspiration!

They are fantastic. Really easy too. Just clean them and cut them in half. Then drizzle with olive oil salt and pepper and bake the crap out of them until you can smell them.

Posted using Partiko Android

At first, I thought it was a loaf of bread! Hahaha

Haha, that is funny!

Posted using Partiko Android

I know!! Hahaha

That looks so good been a while since i had Brussels sprouts

Its worth going for the 165 cant be to careful withpoultry

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Yeah, I don't like fooling around!

Thank you!

Its not worth it I used to be carefree with things like that but maybe a sign of getting older now I am very careful to make sure it is cooked well

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

hello looks delicious
accompanied with brussel sprouts and potatoes
a luxury for a summer day

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12