Brighton By Day

in #brighton5 years ago

JPEG image-194DD64FF638-4.jpeg

I decided to be spontaneous today. I had been craving some seaside, so I made up my mind to jump in the car and just go. Up until I switched on the ignition, I still was undecided between Brighton and Bournemouth.

The great thing about London is, you're only just over an hour away from the sea. There are nearby seaside towns in Essex, Kent and Sussex. If you're up for a longer journey, there're Great Yarmouth, Cornwall, and so on.

I asked the people of Twitter where they thought I should go, listing seaside towns all within two hours drive. Both Brighton and Bournemouth were picked, as well as Margate. On the way down to Brighton, I could have made a left turn and ended up in almost any of the other towns, and honestly, that Margate turn was tempting AF.

JPEG image-194DD64FF638-1.jpeg

I had my doubts on the way too, as it suddenly started raining. It wasn't supposed to rain today. Siri even confirmed it tell me "There will be no rain today.." as if I was living in some alternate reality.

Anyhow, the rain cleared just as I arrived at the destination to give way to a glorious day. Parking near the main part of the seaside is very expensive in Brighton, so I had to drive a fair bit west to find a parking fee I was happy with. It was just as well, it was the perfect spot with a fantastic cafe with an outdoor sitting area facing the sea.

After my brew, I set out on what became a relatively epic 6 hour walk up and down the promenade, culminating at the Brighton Pier. It doesn't take that long to walk it, it just took me that long because I was stopping to appreciate everything :)

I took a lot of photos and video clips too. The visuals were so beautiful. I'm looking forward to editing them together into a fun vlog for DTube. I was going to do it tonight, but alas! I'm tired.

JPEG image-194DD64FF638-6.jpeg

JPEG image-194DD64FF638-7.jpeg

JPEG image-194DD64FF638-5.jpeg

JPEG image-194DD64FF638-11.jpeg

I was attracted mainly to the birds and the rusting metals today for some reason. I took quite a few photos of those which I will share later in the week I'm sure.

Hope you all had a nice Saturday.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Love it. Haven't been there in a while but have lived there for 2 years and it is a lovely place ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the promenade. Excellent for running and long, long walks.

Yeeey my favourite place on the summer :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Really? LOL. It's super commercial :) ... but it's great when you go a bit far west away from the Pier

Really I go there with my bicycle but on the naked beach and that is far from the pier ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL. I see :)

nice trip! want visit the place too

Rethinking my vacation this year to head that way! Had some friend go to Ireland for Spring Break and they enjoyed it as well. I have never been outside of London before!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have never been outside of London before!
WHAT.gif

WHAT!? That cant be :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86