Sunday to Brunei

in #brunei5 years ago

It's been a while since I drove to Brunei. There was slight jam at the Malaysian side.

Gonna be here till Tuesday. Hot day.

I grew up here eventhough I am a Malaysian. It's a peaceful place with almost zero crime.

Last few years ago, however, there were new laws that were passed where no one was allowed to celebrate Christmas and any other celebrations was limited. During the month of Ramadan, the fasting month, every single restaurant is only allowed for take aways until the fasting hour is over. No eating and drinking in public.

On the opposite side, the bordering Malaysia, eventhough it is an Islamic country but the laws aren't strict. So weekends, Bruneians flock to Malaysia like its no tommorrow. Inflow per year of cash that is spent in Malaysia is around 1.5 billion which is around 3 billion USD.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

My wife and I drove from Kota Kinabalu to Bintulu few times before. Cant imagine passing through the immigrations with that long queue. We always avoid peak hours.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea. I feel you, my friend. Last time when I work in Brunei, I had to queue for three hours to get back to Miri which is really close to Bintulu. Thanks for the comment. Really appreaciate it. I always ate a meal before heading for the borders, if not I would get really angry when I felt hungry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84