BTCPOP: Faucets, Group Staking, and more

in #btcpop6 years ago (edited)

My very first post on Steemit made reference to a website called BTCPOP. At the time, I was writing about their online staking capabilities, which I still use and have had good success with. The main things I have staking on the site are RDD, PND, and 1337, but they support lots of others as well. If you're at all interested in group or pool staking, I'd recommend checking them out. But that's not what this post is about.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.24.13 PM.png

Recently they added a bunch of faucets, which I've been hitting regularly for a few weeks. Faucets are websites that give you tiny amounts of cryptocurrency. I've chosen to claim SPRTS, because they're worth basically nothing, so I figure they have huge upside potential. However, they also have faucets for lots of well established coins as well, including PIVX, ReddCoin, and NavCoin, to name a few. You can claim one of the faucet every 30 minutes, and can change which coin you claim every time if you like. It works out well for me since I have a desk job and am in front of my computer most of the day. So I keep the faucet open in a pinned tab and just go back to it whenever I think of it. If it's been less than 30 minutes, there is a countdown timer to tell you how long until you can claim again.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.22.15 PM.png

In just a few weeks I've amassed roughly 1 million SPRTS by hitting the faucet, which is worth roughly $0.15 today. But I'm not doing this to get rich today. I'm doing this because I believe crypto will increase dramatically in the coming years. If that happens, I'd like to have all the crypto I can.

So, how do you get started? I'm glad you asked. This is my referral link: btcpop.co. If you're so inclined, I'd appreciate you using it to sign up. It doesn't hurt you in any way, or cost you anything, but I get a bit of a bonus. If you don't want to use my referral link for whatever reason, that's ok too. Clicking the link above will take you to this registration page.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.34.57 PM.png

Fill out the info, and they will email you a confirmation link. Click that and you're all set. There is a lot to look at on this site, because they offer a lot of services. You can borrow and lend crypto, stake POS coins, and they even have an exchange. But let's stay on target. We're here to talk about the faucets.

On the left side of the screen, you'll see the main nav, which contains a link to the Faucets.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.36.51 PM.png

Clicking the link takes you here, to the list of available faucets. Here are just a few of them:

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.39.44 PM.png

Click whichever faucet you want to claim, then scroll down to the bottom of the screen. Enter your BTCPOP username that you just created, solve the captcha, and you're done. Now you can come back to this page every 30 minutes to make a claim. Or, if you'd like to change things up, you can go back to the main faucets page and pick another faucet to claim next time. But you can only claim one faucet every 30 minutes. You can see your claims and payouts received by clicking the "View your Transaction History" link below the faucet.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.50.09 PM.png

Once you've received a payout (which happens once per day apparently), you can see your balances by clicking Account -> Add / Withdraw Coins in the left nav. And if you've chosen to claim a staking coin, you can see the staking activity by clicking Account -> Alt-Statement.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 3.51.53 PM.png

I've been using this site for a while now, so if you have any questions about it, please don't hesitate to ask.

Sort:  

Your still going strong? I got really busy, and missed my Moon fuctes one day, and have almost all buy stopped using them. The price decline has really made it hard to want to continue, and I haven't made an updated post in on stats in so long I can no longer get to the history. Trying to get motivated to continue, but I had too many, and chose to spend my time on Steemit reading and commenting over clicking recaptcha.... I will have to consider starting again.

I stopped using the moon faucets a while ago for some of the reasons you stated. Once you miss that daily bonus accumulation it's very demotivating. Plus the ads on that site were a lot to deal with. And the captcha got increasingly harder to solve, to the point that it took 20 to 30 seconds each time.

BTC pop seems better in both those regards. Up to this point the captchas have just been checking a box, so it's very manageable.

like I said, I sit in front of a computer most of the day so it's pretty easy to leave the tab up, and then when I think of it, click over to it, refresh, check the box, hit submit, then go back to what I was doing.

I wouldn't say the low crypto prices have discouraged me from using faucets. The payouts are generally higher when crypto is low so it's a good time to accumulate. I'm pretty confident it will all rise again so I see it as an investment in the future more than an investment in now.

Any referral bonus? Want to drop me a link?

Here's hoping 808 coin (never heard of it) takes off!

LOL, good luck. I hope it works out well for you.

What do the owner of btcpop gain by giving you cryptos for free?

They sell ad space on the page. See that blue banner in the top image? That's an ad for something called Dualmine. No idea what it is or what they do, but they paid btcpop to put their ad on the page. The more views a page gets, the more they can charge for the ad space. So they try to entice you to come to the site by giving you free crypto.

Thank you. Do I need to have a wallet?

You can store your faucet claims on their site in a wallet that they give you. This is what I would recommend because then you get the stakes as well. You can see your wallet in the Account -> Add/Withdraw Coins link. It will give you a list of your coins and amounts as well as deposit and withdrawal links, the same as on a crypto exchange. What I'm not sure about is if you have to initialize the wallet at first. I believe if you make a faucet claim the site will create the wallet address for you and deposit the coins, but you might want to generate a wallet address for whichever crypto you're fauceting beforehand, just to be sure.

to generate the wallet address, click the little green plus sign next to the name of the coin and there should be a link that says something like generate new address.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

@methus, you are interesting to read!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25