Top 3 Videos That Reshaped How I Think (Gary Vee, Derek Sivers, Steve Jobs)

in #business6 years ago

Here's another side of me. This is not music, well at least not directly. These are 3 videos that have reshaped how I think. Check it out.

Document, Don't Create

Gary Vee was someone that I initially didn't get. He sounded angry, he cursed a lot and he seems very aggresive. Over time though, I became such a huge fan of his work. His way of thinking resonated with me. His constant discipline inspired me. His whole content creation and videos and work is just jaw droppingly cool. Now I try my best to watch, study and apply as much of his ideas that I can relate too. He is also the reason I'm super fascinated with voice (Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri) now.

This video however shaped my current approach to social media, blogging, podcasting, video - you name it. Life changing stuff.

Hell yeah! or No

You can read the blog post here:
https://sivers.org/hellyeah

I met Derek Sivers a number of years ago when he lived in Singapore. I e-mailed him and connected with him and he kindly gave me some time to talk to him and he shared advice with me. I think I had no idea how mind-blowing the experience was. In retrospect, I'm still super excited that I got to hang out with him while he was running errands. Another cool connection was the fact that we both attended Berklee but about 20 years apart.

This blogpost is something that really made me think about what I do and what to do. I don't always follow it but it's becoming more and more a part of the way I choose projects.

Steve Jobs' 2005 Stanford Commencement Address

This is a famous one. Really good and inspiring. Connecting the dots backwards is something I've experienced again and again, it's quite something. If you haven't watched this video, close your other tabs and spend some time with Steve Jobs. It's good stuff.

=====

If you're interested to learn more in depth on this topic or level up your guitar playing ,music theory or songwriting or composing skills. get in touch with me for private lessons in Kuala Lumpur or worldwide via Skype/Zoom/Facetime etc.

Contact me here: http://www.azsamad.com/contact

=====

My new e-book, Jazz Guitar Licks and Etudes is now available:
http://www.azsamad.com/book2

My first e-book, Jazz Improvisation Uncovered is here:
http://www.azsamad.com/book

[Az Jazz Guitar Lessons]
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #1: The importance of listening
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #2: Learning the 5 Essential Jazz Chords
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #3: Seven Guitarists to Check Out
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #4: Enjoying the Process & Your Present State
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #5: The Importance of Rhythm
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #6: Learning Songs by Ear
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #7: Learning the 5 Essential Jazz Chord Arpeggios
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #8: Introducing the II-V-I Progression
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #9: Learning the 5 Essential Jazz Chords - Part 2
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #10: Learning the 5 Essential Jazz Chord Arpeggios - Part 2
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #11: Modal Jazz Basics 1 - Classic Recordings
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #12: Modal Jazz Basics 2 - Dorian Lines
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #13: Improvising on Stevie Wonder's Isn't She Lovely
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #14: Scales for Spain (Chick Corea)
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #15: Bossa Nova and Samba - Classic Recordings
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #16: Performing Brazilian Music over the Years

[Podcasts]
Az Samad | Az Jazz Guitar Lessons EP01 | 18.05.2018
Az Samad | Az Jazz Guitar Lessons EP02 | 19.05.2018
Az Samad | Az Jazz Guitar Lessons EP03 | 20.05.2018
Az Samad | Az Jazz Guitar Lessons EP04 | 21.05.2018
Az Samad | Az Jazz Guitar Lessons EP05 | 22.05.2018
Az Samad | Az Jazz Guitar Lessons EP06 | 25.05.2018

[Performances]
Zee Avi & Az Samad - Cry Me A River
Chendering (Malaysian jazz song) with Roby Lakatos, Denis Chang, Az Samad and Zulhilmy Zulkifli

[Music Education]
How to spot a good music teacher
How to write a song in 6 steps
How to learn music
If we have the Internet, why do people even need guitar lessons?

[Music Career]
I wanna be a full-time musician... should I?
When are you ready to perform for that big gig?

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Haha yeah garyvee initially came off as weirdly upset to me. His first video that i watched ever was him telling me to stop doing shit i hate and he was still chubby then :P

Yeah it took some time but now I'm totally into his work. Great man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73