IGNORANCE AND FRUSTRATION

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Today I am still trying to get my head around something regarding a business deal. This account is a very large account that I have been working on for over a year now. It just doesn't make sense and I don't think the staff are smart enough to realize.

They use and sell x amount of these things a month. The product has been thoroughly tested in all the conditions they experience and passed with flying colors. The product they are currently using isn't quite what the invoice states. The product has been weighed and proven that it is not correct what they are being charged for by about 20 percent. The product I am selling will better the price plus it is an extra 20 percent as it is the correct weight. I wouldn't go down that route as I am not a dishonest person.

I have asked them what I am missing, as to me it is a no brainer. They will save around $50 000 per month and it is something that is used every day of the year. Where in the business world do you knowingly throw $600 000 a year down the drain. With rising costs today you should be happy that you can find savings. I have a mathematical brain and I know if I had half an hour I could probably double that figure finding a few other products that they are being over charged for. First things first though and need to get the primary product in the door before the next ones.

If I can't land this then either I am useless or they are useless, and maybe I need to take it higher up the ladder. As a buyer in a company I used to know what the prices were and double checked every 6 months or so making sure I wasn't being ripped of. This is obviously not a standard procedure in the Blue Chip companies and I believe it is down to the buddy system and not rocking the boat.If you work too hard then you show everyone else up who isn't. How busy are these people that they aren't doing their jobs correctly. Maybe someone is getting a back hand and is protecting the account. I don't know but my suspicions have been aroused and I will get to the bottom of it somehow.

These companies do huge cost cuttings from time to time and the only way they seem to do it is by getting rid of staff. This company retrenched staff recently and with this saving possibly could have kept 50 staff members employed. What it tells me is the management is rather weak and ignorance could be a factor as well. This happens normally when you hire from outside the company without promoting from with in. If someone has worked with the products they will know what they are buying and maybe these people have no clue.

Image source SSQQ

Sort:  

I smell politics a mile off here. Definitely a backhander somewhere and I'd say its near the top. Whether its internal or they are trying to keep a V.I.P happy. I've seen this alot in companies. Johnny is on the board and he has a stationary company on the side. Whats a few pens etc. Theres a politian in Ireland that is independent of any party. In other to buy his vote on crucial issues , the government grant him what he wants: a new motorway, grants etc. This politician also owns a construction company that builds roads. You know what I am getting at. Rotten to the core but Kerry has the best roads in Ireland and this politician is revered where he is from. Pothole politics. T

Maybe you are right. I managed to get through to the new lady in charge today. Hoping that it will change with her there now. Funny I have had some inside help which I didn't mention and it hasn't got me very far.

good day this fine Monday sir cyptoandcoffee! wow I think you nailed it on the head about what is going on with that company. I think all big companies are inefficient the larger they get but firing people to save money instead of saving money on purchases is bad business.
Good luck with this account.

I will try some new angles of approach. Just seems to fishy or they are all bloody useless. I will get it one way or another.

sir cryptoandcoffee..I bet they are all just bloody useless. because they don't have to be anything else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87