Record Keeping, Electronic Records and Rising ParanoiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #business5 years ago

Pretty much every "service provider" I deal with — from my bank, to the phone company, to our insurance company — has made it so that I can only have the "electronic version" of my current status or statement.

I understand the whole notion of "saving paper" and how mailing monthly bills and statements to customers consumes both time and resources.

0877-Thistle.jpg
Thistle in bloom... a bit thorny

Fine.

The thing that troubles me, though, is our decreasing ability to document what anybody does, and has done.

Electronic records are a nice idea... BUT...

This morning I paid my phone bill. We still have a "land line" because we live in an area with piss-poor cell service... we generally get between zero and two bars around here, and 90% of the time the signal is only strong enough to send text messages, not make voice calls.

I'm told it has something to do with being "too close to Canada" (Read: ATT doesn't want to miss out on charging for international calls that COULD be billed as "local"), but I don't know.

But I digress.

Point is, I pay this bill online, and the sum-total documentation of my actually having done that is an entry somewhere in the billing system.

What keeps some nefarious individual from altering that record so I have to pay the bill twice, because I can't prove otherwise?

0877-Poppy.jpg
The delicate folds of a California poppy at sunset

Call me old fashioned, but I still print a physical copy of my payment confirmation every time I pay... because it includes a confirmation number and a time stamp.

Now, you might think I'm being paranoid here, but I nonetheless find it at least curious that in the course of the past three years, when I choose the "Print Receipt?" option when paying a bill... the printed output no longer includes the service provider's logo and name, OR my account number.

Doesn't that seem a bit sketchy to you? Or at least "avoidant," somehow?

Upon Deeper Reflection

On deeper reflection, I suppose the thing I find bothersome about it all — and, again, I'm open to the possibility that I'm being excessively paranoid here — is the subtle subtext that so often it no longer feels like we are all trying to "do BUSINESS with each other," but instead we are moving towards a philosophical space centered more on "STICKING IT to each other."

0877-Nigella.jpg
*Am delicate White Nigella, getting ready to bloom...

I won't expound too much on what that might imply, but I can't help but think it's a side effect of a world in which "simply getting BY" becomes ever more challenging, every year.

Not to say — as many would argue — that we aren't "better off" as a whole, but that "better off" seems to be coming with an increasingly high moral and philosophical price tag.

Thanks for reading!

What do YOU think? Is "electronic record keeping" safe and reliable? Do you ever wonder whether the information we entrust to others gets tampered with? Do you still keep paper copies of receipts for bills paid? Am I being overly paranoid here? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190208 12:08 PST

0877

Sort:  

What keeps some nefarious individual from altering that record so I have to pay the bill twice, because I can't prove otherwise?

But nevertheless, you have to...

GreenLady.jpg

And You know it!! :)

Ah yes, always we must save paper.... funny!

Soon your phone actions will be on the blockchain and the bill will have to verify against it.

I was even thinking about that, as I was writing this... I wonder how long we will have to wait before that actually becomes "a thing."

I would say not that long considering there are already phones that are starting to implement BC- friendly applications and the like from factory. There are pros and cons to having mass ledgers but if 'everyone acted well', it would be pretty awesome. That is way too much to ask though.

That sets up an interesting question I often noodle around: The blockchain allegedly reveals "everything," so the question becomes whether a major part of the resistance to this technology will eternally be the "bad actors" out there who really don't want their sketchy actions to be available for general inspection.

I love the idea of what blockchain tech can bring to societies and to the world, but there's always that "if everyone acted well" element of idealism to get in the way...

It doesn't have to reveal everything. There are ways to mask and not all actions have to be onchain. Tere could be a mix of onchain and off chain solutions that can protect various bits of information.

"too close to Canada" (Read: ATT doesn't want to miss out on charging for international calls that COULD be billed as "local"), but I don't know.

I was repeatedly billed for making 'international calls' when I was on Interstate ten east of el paso when I was callling my wife in Austin.

Yup. Same difference.
There's a 3-mile stretch of road along north facing bluffs; Vancouver Island facing across the straits. When I check my phone there, I get a "Welcome to Canada!" message...

I see what you are saying. And I am agreeing with it. It is a way to go under... let's say, play in the dark, kind of games they play. Companies are always trying to find ways to trick us into not seeing the big picture, being sly in not giving out all the information. Or they give out too much information so that we are distracted and forget. You found the error. What now?
That is the question to many things, many problems. And what can we do? Where do we get the information to even protect ourselves.
One company to be held accountable... Google. They are spying on us without our permission, selling out all the information without consent.
Airplane mode doesn't stop anything. It has been proven that even without the internet, your cell phone tracks your every move. When you get out of a vehicle, when you stop, when you walk, with how much of a percentage accuracy even! Yet how can we stop this? I dont see any information being freely given out on how to stop this setting.

Anyways, it just goes to say. We are screwed no matter what lol.

at my old job, at a certain non-profit, pretty much every employee had only electronic record of wages- I insisted on a printed copy and was constantly pressured to 'go-paperless' Hell no - when they would call my name at check time -I would run up like I just won the #lotto, or #lol
@angrytwin it used to irritate them nicely. Obviously, I no longer have this job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99