RIP: The American Hustle

in #business5 years ago (edited)


Has the American hustle died? That is what made this country great. Immigrants coming to create a land of better freedoms and opportunities.

However, after being settled as a country for some time now, you know post industrial revolution and now post tech revolution (the first one atleast) it seems we may not be falling into the land of the complacency.

Being on the grind is what made this country great. No one expected anything, they went out and got it themselves.

Nowadays it seems there is quite a bit of the former.

Like I Owe You Something?


This is just a random example and I am sure there are better ones, but today I had a bum ask me for a dollar as he walked by with his knock off beats headphones on his heads.

I responded "all I got is a credit card" to which he said "what?" as he kept walking with his headphones on his hea still.

I responded again, just a bit louder "all I got is a credit card" to which I heard "what?" as he gotten another few steps further away.

I said it one more time even louder as I am now standing in front of the door of the sandwich shop that I'm delaying myself to go into trying to answer this guy like it's me that isn't getting the job done trying to answer his request for a dollar.

Like, come on man. At least pull one side of the headphones off and stop walking for a second if you even want a hope at your request being fulfilled.

Do Your Job


The good news is we are living in a society where just doing your job is considered a good job because you have many people that decide they "don't feel like adulting today". Yes, that has become a term.

Or maybe I'm just a bitter old man at 40 years old.

Food for thought.


Published by ScaredyCatGuide

on

with SteemPress
https://mentormarket.io/scaredycatguide/rip-the-american-hustle/


Sort:  

When govt keeps handing out free stuff where is the incentive to grind it out. Besides the rich guys are now expected to pay 70% taxes so the bums don't have to ask for a dollar.

“When the people find that they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic.”
― Benjamin Franklin

We now have politicians proposing free college, healthcare, housing and a guaranteed income to, "all those unable OR UNWILLING to work". You read that right. They want to pay people who are able to work, but just don't want to.
At this rate, we won’t even be able to pay the interest on our national debt in 10 years. Unless we wake up almost immediately, we’re going to reach the point of no return...if we haven't already.
I live in the US. Many think Venezuela can’t happen here. It most certainly can and will if we continue down this path.

Oh, but now they want everyone to believe the unwilling part was a mistake. Or a joke. 'Hahahahaha foolish citizen, believing what we said instead of what we wanted you to feel.
Anyway, who says we said that? You? Probably the other guys, just trying to make us look bad.'

Politics is like a high school cafeteria these days lol.

History always repeats. There will be a revolution in America again at some point. Probably not in our lifetimes though.

I'm not so sure it won't be in our lifetime. I certainly hope not.

I feel the same way. But I have a kid, so I'm not even off the hook if it waits till my lifetime is done. All the more reason to invest in people figuring things out in civil society!

Posted using Partiko Android

Or maybe I'm just a bitter old man at 40 years old.

That's nothing...wait until you hit 50! lol

Hahahahaha! ;-)

some interesting points made here. thanks

Its not the 40 year old you. I think it really has died. Its a world of "I deserve it. Give me it!!" Rather than what it should be; "the world owes me nothing. I gotta go get it"

Exactly, people want participation trophies. Whoever thought of that idea ruined a couple generations of people.

It will only get worst as the sense of entitlement passes each generation. It truly has become this way and those in the middle are carrying the burden.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great food for today. Yes, we have definitely become an entitled society, but those who continue to hustle will benefit, but must maintain balance because we only get one shot at life.

Yep, that balance is a juggling at for sure! It's my everyday struggle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88