Why I'm Trying a Short Trade on SPX

in #business5 years ago


Generally I like to see clear entry signals, but sometimes I try to anticipate a move if it is offering me a low risk proposition with a solid reward.

Taking a Shot on a Spinning Top


There are many names for candlesticks and candlestick patterns. Spinning top is one of them and it is what I am seeing on the daily chart of the SPX.


After seeing the SPX gap higher three consecutive days and then create a spinning top yesterday I thought why not get short at the close of trading and put in a stop loss at the day's high.

Basically, for me a spinning top is when we get a doji candle (indecision candle) after a extended move higher.

So between that and the fact we are pulled away from the 10 day moving average and in a resistance zone (as seen by the lines drawn on the chart) I figure there could be some backing and filling at a minimum, even if things were to remain strong.

Plus, my risk is only 11 points on the upside, hence me willing to take the gamble.

Lower Open


After three straight gaps higher to open the day, SPX is set to open lower today. We are off to a good start, but let's see how the day plays out though.

Downside I'm looking for 2535, but may take profits at some higher levels that make sense on a day trade basis.

And we are off...

 


Published by ScaredyCatGuide

on

with SteemPress
https://mentormarket.io/scaredycatguide/why-im-trying-a-short-trade-on-spx/


Sort:  

Sound trade idea, but be careful with forces stepping in and providing support to the market as even the Fed seems to be following the President in propping up buyers at any given tweet or speech.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72