Business Decisions - Profit VS Honor

in #business6 years ago

handshake 2.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Do you make business decisions based on profits or based on honor? When you look on Steem you can see exactly who has become a salesman or who is writing content to get good with people that have bigger wallets.

Here are examples of business decisions based on profit on Steem
1 - Promoting someone you don't know.
2 - Promoting something you don't know.

Here are examples of business decisions based on honor on Steem
1 - Delegations to communities
2 - Delegations to people
3 - Writing why a certain platform ain't good for Steem.

These are just a couple examples to give you an idea of business decisions based on profit and honor.

What decision you make regarding profits or honor depends on your values. I personally would rather be poor than selling my soul to the devil for profits.

I will not lie, scam, abuse, or promote anything I have no clue of or do not like for profits. Imagine you build tanks and you get money for it.

Building tanks is probably some very hard shit and the cash is good and you don't kill anyone right? It ain't you who is pulling the trigger and people will always pull it so you cannot change it right?

Well, you are right then, but you still build the machines that are used to invade countries en mass, therefore your business decision is based on profits.

I personally build my wealth based on honor and not on profits, I have seen some people I knew in the past changing in the profits direction and that is disappointing to see.

Nuff said I have removed them from my friend list because a person that lacks honor is not a good friend.

Slut.jpg

Look at this piece of leftist propaganda. They want to stop slut shaming and sluts are nowadays proud of it. Being a slut is a business decision based on profits and not on honor.

Selling your body or your identity for money is not good for your self-esteem, that is why some rich or not rich people that base their business decisions are not very happy with their life.

Would you feel good knowing that you make money lying to people? Scamming them? Hurting people? You don't even need to directly do it, just working for someone that does this supports his or her effort to scam people for cash.

Honor on the other side creates trust, a good reputation and increases your self-esteem. Yes, you will earn less money, but money is just a piece of paper to buy something.

We don't need tons of cash to be happy, a simple life is much greater, but that is just me, I don't consider myself materialistic. I am happy when I sit on a bench with just nature around me seeing and hearing animals, gardening, playing video games, lifting some weights, building something etc.

Those are things that make me happy, and they do not require much money, however, sometimes we do need stacks of cash to solve problems and that will result in a conflict and show how strong your sense of honor is.

I could for example start selling weed and make an additional 2K per month but I know that it will get me into trouble and most people cannot handle their weed consumption, they get absolutely lazy and get nothing done.

I do not want to support that, so I base all my business decisions on honor, however poor or fucked up I am.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

My ultimate goal as a Steem Witness is to improve the quality on many Steem based platforms and to maintain the Steem blockchain.

If you value what I do I would be happy if you would vote for me at the bottom of the Witness voting page. Simply scroll down, enter "valorforfreedom" click on vote and that's it.

You can also vote for me by clicking on the picture below with my account name in it. Afterwards you simply have to log in with Steemconnect and I will receive your vote.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Stats.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Sort:  

In my opinion honour builds long term legacy and respect that can be leveraged for larger profits in the future. The game is all about long term thinking rather than short-term decision making.

Intelligent comment 👍

This is the most insightful post of the day for me. You've really shown me that it is better to pursue honor than to pursue profit without respect to honesty.

I am glad to hear that Bimboola. 👍

Very nice post boss... I was able to pick up a thing or two, now i know the difference between business decision based on honor and business decision based on profit... And some other awesome points you made. Thanks for the enlightenment

Excellent post
Ethics

As long as your not hurting anyone its not bad. Some people invest and want profits. So many just don't like that simple fact.

I'd like to think that I make my business decisions based on honor. I find that doing the right thing gives me more peaceful sleep at night. I've had several times already where I did some decisions based on profit or decisions that I know is totally out of character for me and I am always left with a bad feeling in my stomach and a heavy heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84