3 Tips How to Avoid Bad Business Decision

in #business6 years ago

Being Self Employed or Entrepreneur is not an easy task. A lot at stake actually, business partner, time, money and most importantly Family. When I started doing on my own, it was pretty scary to think I have to neglect my Monthly Stable Salary and went with my guts to start my own. Actually to start own is easy, to MAINTAIN it is not Easy. I have been self-employed for the past 5 years now, pretty amazing actually to know the fact I survived and push through all this while.

All these years, many ups, many downs too, not knowingly it is a Survivor mode. Some friends in the industry fall and really closed their business. It is quite daunting to know, the effort, money, time, and company goes down the drain. I can say I am pretty lucky in the business world though sometimes I fall deep too, i manage to pull back myself up and regain position in this competitive market.

Today I would like to share about "How to avoid the Bad decision in Business". This may not be practical for you but it works for me, although I do have my failure business deal moments and failed partnership. Nonetheless, those failures took a different driving decision power for many reasons to be mention.

Source

Last week, my nephew who just finishes his Diploma in Business Management in a local universiti wanted to start his own food truck business. He came to ask for my advice, licensing matters, business strategy and etc. I gave my inputs to him, fairly and boldly. I mean seriously at the age of 24, I will always prefer to gain experience outside first. For me its simple, I want to see the world first, I want to travel, I want to experience company management, I want to feel the colleagues friendship and etc. Oh well, this is me and how I look at things. Don't Rush to make a decision. Don't jump to conclusion, when we have the Introduction to look into. This is why i am sharing a post here with this topic.

1.Brainstorming

In any business you wanna do, please don't be lazy to do brainstorming. This means whatever biz it is, go do your own research, do a comparison, use Mr. Google, compare prices, location, go and see how to run the business first. For example, Food Truck, go check the costing to make a food truck, license matters, type of food trucks serve your city. It is so damn crucial. The one thing my partner always use and say to me is the "What If". These two words have been stuck in my head for many many years doing business and making a decision. It really hypes me up when I think about What of This will happen? what if that will happen ?

So do the brainstorming session alone, friends, love ones because these people care for you from the very beginning. They are the ones actually will be your first customer actually. Trust me, most business start from the families and love ones. (Think MLM) lol haha.

2.Lay out the Plans from A, B, C and more.

Before making a decision, draw and lay out the plan for this. my mistake in business is always, later I do it, later I remember, no worries that, no worries this, I take things for granted, in my head was the plan, but in my heart, I hope the plan works. Over the years, I always miss this part, Plan A this way, Plan B that way, Plan C another way. so put it in front of you and analyze the whole scenario. No doubt, some experienced business people will tend to know their move, this is more to the newbies that seemingly want to try self-employed entrepreneurship.

laying down the plans will give a bigger and more meaning full goal to reach. Some may think writing down is stupid, trust me, you will refer back to the plans one fine day when you are lost in the business world. the plans will keep you on track and act as a reminder to where you should be heading.

3.Seek Advice

For the newbies who want to do their own business, Don't be Cocky, Be Humble. Being humble doesn't cost you a penny, and Humble is my thing in me. Technologies are changing faster day by day, trends are created by a second in the world. Don't tell me you know everything, don't be Mr. Google when even Mr. Google needs to be updated every Minute.

Seek advice from your senior in your business line, seek those who tasted salt and glory already. Show sincerity and take in the wisdom. It is important to know that actually, we are learning every day, every hour. For myself, I learn on daily basis, I was not well versed on construction business 5 years ago, but through advice from fellow good friends, I manage to do few projects construction and renovation successfully. I am thankfull for them.

So ladies and Gents, my Fellow friend in Steemians, those wanna try doing big scale entrepreneurship, please do homework , before you will be at the losing end.


Who Am I & Why I am Here ?

I am Alvin 'aka' @veenang who loves good food and enjoy engaging with people from all walks of life and meeting interesting, creative and intelligent people.

I am a SMALL Pioneer Tourism Buff in Sabah, Malaysia, Borneo. I ACCEPT STEEM for Hotel Booking in MALAYSIA and also Tours in Sabah, Malaysia, BORNEO. YES, YOU HEARD IT RIGHT!!! Do check out my post by clicking

Here for more details or chat me in Discord veenang#2913

Why Steemit ???
Unlike other social media platform, we can actually earn a reward by writing good quality contents (Blogging) and commenting on Steemit platform.

How to Join???
Steemit is Free to Sign Up, you may click HERE and it will lead you to the Sign-Up page. What are you waiting For? Sign Up Now!!!

"Steemit is NOT a Race, it's a DAMN LONG Marathon that NEVER ends" @veenang

Search me at Discord veenang#2913


Credit to @cklai for #teammalaysia Sabah Logo


Credit to @cklai for doing this GIF Banner

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hahaha yes, tis not a normal path, each with its own unique challenges. Wishing you the greatest of success!

Hey @kchitrah , thats correct each of us has our different views and path.

I completely agree- it is easy to start, but very hard to maintain.
When you are rolling it every day it is like a huge effort, really all pay is rightfully earned especially if you go ON an ON for hours in day, while others go home after 5 and have a peaceful lunch.

thks buddy @aschatria will definitely look into it!!! cheers

Wise advise. I tried going solo but just had no luck. I then needed income and found the comfort of fixed monthly income. Im poorer but im happier. Well thats me :)

hehe!!! sometime i think back Salary monthly is what i missed alot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85