GHOST FLIGHT [A SUPERNATURAL STORY]

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

9242619233_8380a843a9_b.jpg
img

It was my first time on an airplane and I was pretty nervous. Still, it was totally unexpected when I felt a warm tap on my shoulder, I look up to what happened to be a dreamy persona, her familiar eyes almost spoke to me in a fraction of a second, it was like she somehow knew everything about me.

"Sorry, is this seat 27-c?" she asked in a soft tone.

"yea... I-I suppose?" I replied looking down at my ticket. "Oh... My bad," I exclaimed with a shy smile... I realized I was sitting on the wrong side of the aisle.

"I wouldn't have bothered you, It's just I love sitting next to the windows," she responded with a pleasant smile.

I quickly switched to the next sit, her sweet smelling perfume enveloped me as she sat down gently, almost everything about her reminded me about my mother, from the welcoming fragrance to her brightly patterned dress; the one my dad gave my mother as a gift. I remembered I tore the dress in my childish playfulness. when my father saw the rip in her dress, he had a hard time controlling his anger, I never did confess that I was the culprit, I feared the punishment I would have received.

"Get ready for takeoff ladies and gentlemen..."The in-flight announcement by the captain interrupted my train of thought.

I braced my self as we took off momentarily, we shared another brief glance at each other followed by a quick smile. A moment ago I was nervous about the flight but her presence seemed to calm me down, my day even got much better when I heard that soft voice again.

"Is this your first time on a plane?" she asked

"Oh... yeah, it is... how did you know?"

"I saw you reading the safety manual and you were pretty into it... nobody read those these days," she replied with a soft giggle.

"ha-ha... I guess you got me there... I do hope the flight goes smooth."

"Oh, you don't have to worry about it... you're in safe hands," she replied in an assuring tone as she reached over and touched my arm.

I was pretty surprised but also comforted by her closeness to me, I was about to reciprocate in a similar gesture when her countenance suddenly changed, she squeezed my arm and pulled me closer while whispering to me in a serious manner.

"Do not trust everything you see on this plane... your life will depend on it..."

"W-What are you talking about?" I responded as I gently pulled myself away from her.

I tried to wrap my head around what just happened, why did this pleasant woman switch on me in a twinkle of an eye. I was about to make up my mind about her and assume she was just crazy when she asked me one simple question.

"How did you get on this plane?"

"What do you mean how I got on this plane, okay... maybe you should just leave me, alone lady..."

"Listen... can you remember how you got here? what steps did you take... do you even know where you are heading to? answer me this and I will leave you alone..."

"Okay... since you want to play some sick twisted game, I'm going to answer you..."

I was about to answer her when I realized I couldn't remember how I got there. I looked at her trying to mask my confusion with a fake smile, I couldn't even remember where I was headed, my hands began to twitch as a strange tingling sensation crawled on my skin, I began to physically rub my temple as I was overcome by sheer confusion.

"You can't remember can you?" she asked in a soft concerning tone as she reached over and placed her hands on my shoulder. "Take a look around you... If you can't remember how you got here, then are you supposed to be here... are you even really here?"

I slowly turned my head and began to look around me, an old looking lady was seated behind me knitting some wool, a mother and her kids where adjacent to me, the whole environment began to seem very strange, we were already far above the clouds when the whole plane began to vibrate, they were clouds in the sky earlier but now the sky turned pitch black.

I began to panic as I screamed out with all my lungs, what even made the whole experience surreal was the fact that no other passengers seem bothered by this, the old lady was still knitting and the woman with the kids was sitting quietly.

"Keep calm..." she exclaimed. "Their reality is different from yours."

I turned my gaze upon her. I was looking clueless and confused, she seemed to be the only one that knew what was going on, she pulled me closer again as I perceived that same welcoming cologne that reminded me of my mother, I drew closer to her embrace, she whispered gently into my ears.

"You don't belong on this journey... you have to remember your loved ones"

I close my eyes as I realized for the first time what I had to do, she wanted me to remember my mother, that was why she wore her cologne and her most treasured dress, I smiled as I cherished the memories of my mother with trails of warm tears rolling down my face. I never did apologize for tearing her favorite dress, all I wanted was an opportunity to ask for her forgiveness.

All of a sudden I could feel a blinding white light permeating through my closed eyelids, I found myself waking up on a hospital bed, I could see my mother beside me, holding my hands with eyes drowned in tears.

banner.png

This is a three part weekend freewrite organized by @mariannewest you can check out her blog for the daily prompts and rules. thanks for reading. :-) here is my previous story if you want to check it out. [ALCOHOL WARS - A PROHIBITION-ERA SHORT STORY]



Sort:  

Wow, wow, WOW! What an awesome twist ending! You got me right in the feels with this - excellent work, @abmakko!

Thanks for reading @traciyork...

You're very welcome, @abmakko!

That was a great story!!!! You had me going for a minute thinking this was a true story (omg is it??) The ending was killer... i could see that happening to people while unconscious..

Thanks for reading... I'm glad you enjoyed it :-) I do have a thing for surreal events...

Well i guess i should have been following you anyways im a slacker I'll admit that but i have you on now... so i cam keep up with your writing!!!

Thanks a lot for your kind words, it's comment like this that makes me to take writing more seriously

The real world kinda sucks so writing is a great way to escape sometimes.. tip!

Hi @abmakko! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @deadgrlsuppastar!

Check out @deadgrlsuppastar blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Man... I usually don't get shivers with reading this kind of stories but I just did! The way you narrate the story makes me want to read even more. I was expecting a different ending, but you got me there. I felt frightened and touched at the same time. This was really a good read.

Thanks for the comment... @hiddenblade . I do love leading my readers in a twist. I believe it makes the experience even more fun. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Hi abmakko,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks @curie... I am humbled 🙇

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Beautiful story of love and forgiveness, it really is a supernatural because it was a near death experience and I was like shivering while I was reading this, you compared it to a first time passenger, that is like a reaper plane 😰

But It seems to be a little bit cliffhanger to me, I want to know if you have the chance to ask your mother for her forgiveness and if she forgive you from what you did (but mothers love is a forgiver, I just want to know if you made the courage) 😊

thanks for the comment buddy... you know what... you just motivated me to round up most of my half finished stories and finish them one by one... afterall...

a half finished story is like an half finished love affair

Glad you stopped by. :-)

It is an honor for me to read such a beautiful article like this, hope you can make more and inspire those other aspirants writer 😍

And I hope you can also follow me back and read my works, I want to also share my inspiring article to you and to everyone 😊😊😊

sure thing :-)

Holy Molly..such a piece of art!
You are an artist by nature, or at least this is what I feel now after reading your story which could easily be transposed into a book or even a movie.
The way you write and share every single detail makes me have all the scene in my mind and it really moves me. From what I understood from your story, the lady wanted to remember you about your mother and to be honest I've always believed in reincarnation so if this would happen to me I would surely take it as a sign from her.
But as I've never traveled by plain, I would also prefer not to have such an experience from the very first time haha. Great job, you artist! ♥️

Thanks for the compliment.... I do try my best to be empathic in my writing... I am often fond of the saying "true writers are true empaths" one of their most treasured quality is the ability to put themselves in someone shoes...

I also love supernatural events... Thanks for reading @gabrielatravels...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome story @abmakko!! I thought it was gonna go one way, then another and it did it a great way with a terrific ending that was even a different way!! Well done!!

Thanks for passing by @deejay... I'm glad you enjoyed the ending as much as I did

You're very welcome @abmakko!!

You qualify an upvote.
She was a sweet looking lady with a nice scent, and she seemed to peruse you by her touch.

Am see it would be a great flight if it continued.
And am sure this brought into you a desire to board a flight.

I would say keep up the story writing skill.

Thanks for reading @musemeza... I can see you're are also interested in the dreamy persona. thanks for passing by ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87