It's more about color than size...😉

in #busy6 years ago

I haven't posted lately any of my fishing experiences and you were probably thinking that my fishing gear is just laying dusty in the garage. But it's not. It doesn't have time to get dusty as I am using it daily whether it's sunny, rainy or it's windy. That's how fishermen are. The fish o matter what...

It's true though, that for a while these pretty big rapacious carps that I used to catch at the beginning of the fishing season are not biting that much anymore and there are some reasons for that. First is that the water is getting warmer which every day and is not a friendly environment for them. They seem to feel more comfortable in the spring an autumn water when everything is more clear and fresh out there.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-09 at 11.33.57.jpeg

The second reason might be that there is not that much small fish near the shore in this time of the year as it is in spring. Small fish being their main food it's obvious that they swing their tales in other parts of the water. From what I saw in their jumps they seemed to have established their "hunting" territories at about 200-300m from the shore and unfortunately I can't cast that much and don't have a both either...for now.

Luckily though perch is eating pretty well and too close to the shore, as it seems. Most of the ones that I catch are biting at 3-4 meters from the shore and very often I have the feeling that I hooked some water weed before they wake up pulling the line. They're definitely not that spectacular in eating like the rapacious carps. But it's good they are in the area. No catch is ever to small or insignificant.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-09 at 11.34.17.jpeg

The ones that you can see in the pictures are at about 200-300 grams and between 25 to 35 centimeters in length. They're somehow babies, but developed already an appetite for shiny metal lures and that's a good thing. Not loosing hope though to show you their parents in the future, but for the moment you saw only the kindergarten of perches. I have a friend with a boat that is coming home for vacation from Sweden, in July, and we'll gonna explore some good spots far from the shores. Mainly I am into for some serious catfish as I only hooked tinny ones. Let's see what Danube has to offer... Cuz it has.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25