Let there be Bitcoin dominance, let there be disappointment

in #busy6 years ago

With every day looking at crypto charts I see lower lows, red all the way, coins bleeding and a lot of disappointment and FUD. Although almost every cryptocurrency is loosing money out of its market cap there is one that is gaining...something and that's Bitcoin. Unfortunately it's not gaining ground against the USD, but it is increasing its dominance over the rest of the coins.

Today was the first time in 2018 when BTC passed the 50% dominance over the rest of the altcoins which means that half of the crypto investors and traders believe in BTC more than in every other coin, isn't it? Well most of them, as some seem to get in the same trap I did in December and invest in NXT, a coin that in my opinion is as shity as its team that held my well deserved IGNIS for months after NXT's hard fork, but that's another story and I am not in the mood of talking about it...again.

Regarding my portfolio, it is almost 60% down and it's not a reason to smile when opening it. At all. Although I know that it is the best thing to keep your money on multiple coins and have a diversified portfolio I admit that I have more of a gamblers mentality for some months and I invested almost all of my money in only one...XRP. One that doesn't hold the selling pressure good at all this time. I can't say that about Ethereum either, but XRP really dissapointed me this time so I'm thinking in changing the tactic once it recovers itself from this situation. I am sure it will.
I was swinging a bit between XLM and XRP recently, but somehow XRP seemed more appealing so I stopped "the betting" on it. Now I think XLM it would have been a better option and probably it will be the hodling one after the storm.

hammer-682767_1280.jpg
[image source](Let there be Bitcoin dominance, let there be disappointment )

Despite having only about $209 billion in market cap for the crypto markets not all the cryptocurrencies suffered the same. Bitcoin is the king of course with its over 50% dominance and some others like XLM that survived pretty good during this downfall. However, as I remember last time when we had something similar, as a downfall, the market was at about $250-270 billion and BTC was under $6000 while this XLM that I am talking about was at the half of its current price so something is changed this time. Something that I mentioned in other posts also.

I think that lots of the shit coins(except NXT) are being drained of funds while these are moved into more secure ones. Coins that have a use case and will have years from now also, coins that might really moon when the next real bull run will hit us hard and why not coins that might become actual currencies many years from now. So, in my opinion the market is maturing with every painful swing like this one. Not only that the ones who didn't really believed in cryptocurrencies, but only in the getting rich quick trades that we had in December, are out of the market with every painful swing of the market, but the real ones seem to get stronger and more confident in the environment.

How long will it take until we really bottom and then jump higher again I don't know and don't think anyone knows, but the way I feel it there is still room to go lower despite everybody's willing for a changing trend. It seems that the market is no longer driven by news, as there aren't really bad ones lately so there's something else moving it. Yes, ETFs are being rejected and delayed, but I don't think this situations are taking the market down that much so there must many other factors influencing the crypto markets trends. Bottom line, let there be Bitcoin dominance, let there be disappointment, let there be new ATHs this year. Stay strong!

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

At one hand, many crypto-critics are eager to point out that we have an uncontrolled inflation as there are new crypto projects starting up on a daily basis. To avoid such an uncontrolled inflation, it's important that one coin keeps dominance, somewhere between 50% and 90% of the market cap.

At the other hand, in the end of the day, Bitcoin and crypto currencies are technology ... and one of the things with technology today is that it's rapidly getting deprecated. There is nothing Bitcoin can do, that other crypto currencies cannot do better, and from me as a tech person I'd say Bitcoin has quite some "technical debt".

The capacity limit is a big problem - although some people would claim it's "solved" through the Lightning Network. I don't think the Lightning Network is any silver bullet - and by the way, did you ever send Bitcoins through the Lightning network? Fees are low and reliability OK now due to low demand for bitcoin transactions - meaning that Bitcoin basically isn't much used at the moment. Once the demand for transactions grow beyond the capacity we'll again have transaction fees spiraling out of control and reliability going down.

On the social level, I believe the big Bitcoin "blocksize war" has really put all cryptos back with several years.

did you ever send Bitcoins through the Lightning network?

Never. I owned Bitcoin a couple of times, but mostly altcoins and the most I transacted Ethereum. One that amazes me for its speed is that joke coin called Dogecoin :)
Overall I haven't done too much of crypto transfers and neither have I bought anything yet using cryptos.

did you ever send Bitcoins through the Lightning network

yes i did. It actually pretty good and you can send $1 with 90% guarantee. Not the best but it been artificially limted until watchtowers come which is coming near the end of Oct. The LN is more reliable and will be bc there no such thing as mempool. Onchain tx might be higher again but Liquid will be coming it a exchange alliance think of it as instasend on bitcoin. All exchange to exchange traffic will be on Liquid and due to alot of tx on bitcoin are to exchanges -the mempool would be more empty.
And hopefully schorr will be coded by then which gives 40% more scale with no big blocks with a softfork.
I do think 2018 bear market has let Bitcoin catch up to altcoins and is more ready to battle them.

No doubt, Bitcoin is the king. All these fud and bearish trends can't affect the bitcoin. Cause, ultimately it's gonna sky rocket in the coming months.
Thanks for sharing your views :)

We'll see if it skyrockets or not in the next months, but until then there are many selling at very low prices, in my opinion, regretting in a few years their decision.

I prefer BTC dominance at 10% and USD price at 50000$. I don't suffer so much because half of my crypto investment is in profit sharing coins of the exchanges so every day I have more and more different tokens... ONE, BCO, FCoin are doing good job for me dough they are dropping also...

I said multiple times that I will check these profit sharing coins that you mention about and haven't done that yet. I am a bit cautious though when investing and probably that's why I am choosing always only top ranked cryptos. It makes me feel safe, but sometimes I should risk a bit more to earn a bit more.

I understand your concern. All profit that I get from this exchanges I transfer to my cold wallet, don't keep anything over there...

How do you think @acesontop what will happen next?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69