Surprise Promo-Steem Session on National Tv

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday sure was a trippy day, @zahabu called me at around 9.am, telling me that people had become intrigued though quite skeptical, when he had talked about steemit, the benefits it provides and how you don't even have to invest in it first during this summit. So much so that the RBA(Rwanda Broadcasting Agency) became interested in talking to Rwandese steemians and to ask them about their experiences. He asked if I would join and of course I was in!

Shortly after I got there, at around 11:45, we started the interviews. We each had about 3-5 minutes to talk, this is my account and here you can read that of @bmotives.

I actually did 2 versions, one in Kinyarwanda and the other in English(might have fumbled and tumbled a bit on this one), but since they were pretty much the same, I'll just give a quick rundown of the English one.

Questions - Answers:(Paraphrased)

  • How did your hear about steemit? When and what made you decide to join.

I had been watching youtube videos about cryptocurrencies for a few weeks when I stumbled accross steemit. I joined 4 months ago(mistakenly said 5), I joined because I felt like getting into steem wouldn't be as complicated as the other coins, plus it sounded similar enough to facebook and twitter which I was already used to.

  • Have you learned anything since you started?

I answered yes, I said I had learned markdown and the basics of referencing amongst other things.

  • What kind of opportunities can be found there?

There are communities such as Utopian that will mentor you, fund you and help you in accomplishing your project if they like it. Others will help you in other ways, you just have to find your niche.

I also talked about how easy and fast it is to fundraise for a charity or cause through steemit.

  • Have you made any tangible money so far since you started?

I told them that although I still haven't withdrawn I had made some $ from posts, contests etc

What not to expect:

Get rich quick:

I told them they can't expect to make 100$ in the first week, that just like in any business it takes time, effort and a community to start really seeing the wanted results.

As of now we're still waiting for the RBA to air the footage, after that I'll link it in this post. If they haven't by the end of the weekend I'll post the video made at the same time courtesy of @bmotives's phone. I can't right now due to poor connection and finishing data.

Improv meet-up session

After we were done shooting we didn't part ways immediately, we stayed a bit and discussed the way forward, but that's it for this time.

Thanks for the read, hope y'all enjoy the weekend. Peace!!


All images in this post are mine.

Sort:  

Honestly, good stuff. Keep steeming an investing in your own account.

Cheers @deniskj, that's the plan. And thanks for passing by :)

A great one

Cheers @stbrians, and thanks for passing by :)

Nice one. With this post, I see many young people joining the platform.

You are right and it's only a matter of time before they join in masses. Cheers for passing by :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ange.nkuru from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71