Two weeks into a #Healthier2019

in #busy5 years ago
It´s been 14 days since I started my New Year´s resolutions. These resolutions are not many and are not aimed to improve myself in a shallow way, but they are more about being a better person and improving my overall health and well being.

I made a post about this whole idea and I even opened an @actifit account under the name of @afitsoul. On this first post I promised to update every day with an actifit report and also every Sunday, to write down my plans for the week to come

image.png

Source for image

It´s been 13 days since I haven´t smoked or drink alcohol - beers and wine don´t count, of course. I mean strong alcohol. I´m already feeling the difference in my daily activities. I have more energy and more drive and will to do my daily activities.

I´m changing my lifestyle one step at a time. You may advice me to change my habits with one big single punch and turn my life around 180° and I understand the logic behind this. But I think there are different strategies to achieve this and I know myself, if I try to change or improve everything at the same time, I´ll fail all of them. Now, I think I´m off the hook from smoking, drinking alcohol and drinking soda. That was my first challenge and I achieved it.

The hard part is complete, now for the next four weeks, my goal will be to lose as much fat as I can by following an easy to comply eating regime:

  1. Cutting Back on Sugars and Carbs.
  2. Eating more Protein, Vegetables and good fats.
  3. Having a "Carb Refeed" Once Per Week.

I also found a helpful list of do´s and dont´s for losing weight in Healthline.com

  • Eat a high-protein breakfast - Are you kidding? I´m mexican, this is part of my life, only thing is I have to cut back on the carbs because Mexican restaurants are high on protein AND carbs.
  • Avoid sugary drinks and fruit juice - Now I´m already doing this since January 1st
  • Drink water a half hour before meals - Been doing this for years now.
  • Eat soluble fiber - This may help, I´ll look into this.
  • Drink coffee or tea. If you're a coffee or tea drinker, then drink as much as you want as the caffeine can in them boost your metabolism by 3–11%. - I´m not a coffee drinker but I can get into Tea drinking :D
  • Eat mostly whole, unprocessed foods - This one will be hard for me but I´ll definitely try it.
  • Eat your food slowly - This one will be extremely painful, but it´s something that must be done.
  • Weigh yourself every day - Meh, I don´t think I´ll do this one, not really a fan.
  • Get a good night's sleep, every night - This is one I will struggle with but I´ve heard about this one so much I HAVE to give it a try.

Now, for the excercise part, I hope this will be much more fun - and not as hard - as I expect it to be

For the past 2 weeks I´ve only limited myself to go for long walks, playing with my dogs and in general have a more active daily routine. As I said, I have to change my lifestyle step by step and if I started doing an excercise routine since the beginning by now I´m pretty sure I would´ve dropped it.

But now, I feel ready. Completely ready to start a proper Excercise routine, specifically made to lose fat. I´ve been reading Men´s Health magazine for at least 15 years now and on every monthly magazine there´s always an Excercise routine perfect for whatever that month features. For example, if its December they make a special routine adjusted for a high calorie diet because you know, Christmas dinners and all; if it is the summer, they include a routine perfect for getting a leaner stomach etc etc.

But they also have specialized routines for specific purposes. If you haven´t been paying attention, my goal is to lose weight/fat, and I found the perfect routine for achieving that.

The routine is divided in two giant sets and I should alternate them every day, meaning that if I start tomorrow monday, I should do set number 1 and then on tuesday set number 2 and so on.

Every day I´m going to warm-up by running for 2-3 mins. The key for these sets is to do each exercise for 45 secs (no matter the reps), then rest 15 secs, then I´ll move to the next exercise. Rest 1 min between circuits, then repeat the circuit twice more.

Giant Set 1Giant set 2
SquatsPull-ups
LungesPress-ups
Mountain ClimbersTricep dips
Flutter kicksReverse crunch
Bicycle crunchesX
These are going to be some great four weeks , I can already feel it. It will be hard but I will keep you updated. At the end of the four weeks - and one month and a half into my #healthier2019 - I will update my Before/after Pictures :D
Sort:  

Hi @anomadsoul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.281 which ranks you at #224 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 209 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You may advice me to change my habits with one big single punch and turn my life around 180°

Nope, never works for me either! Just do 1 thing at a time until it doesn't require mental energy anymore (changing habits is HARD!) and then you can add another little thing.

Your plan sounds solid and great - good luck to you!

It's better to move step by step ....rather than hurrying up. ...slow the progress the better it is....👍
Always follow the routine , that's is only secret to achieve good health....nice you are controlling and followed the routine...and I believe you made it quite beautifully. ....hope those pizzas at night.. will get out of menu too..😉

Posted using Partiko Android

If it’s any consolation I only know a handful of people who have been able to maintain a huge goal turn your life around kind of thing. Most of the people I know who have attempted that invariably find it too much hard work and fall really quickly back into old habits. The ones more likely to succeed do things in small increments like you’re doing and slowly ingraining new habits before tackling the next change 🙃

Not sure why daily weighing would be needed 🤨 weekly seems like more than enough (for me that’s playing around and running completely unscientific experiments).

Yay for feeling great!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can achieved a good and healthy body ad lifestyle if you are focus and determine to make it a habit in ensuring you keep to your health task and eating habit

Great progress! The hardest is starting; I have followed most of the same steps you are looking to do, mainly reducing carbs. In the first 13 days of 2019, I am down about 3 kilos by that alone as the body reacts pretty quickly to changes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great! Actually we all should care our health as you are caring. All the best!

👍🏻👍🏻

I wouldn’t underestimate the weigh-yourself-everyday part. I once lost eight only by doing that, without any diet or exercise :) All I wanted was to lose 100g per day. That’s not much but it’s 3kg per month.
Just the daily accountability of the scale made me adjust things unconsciously - eat less, eat differently, take the stairs instead of elevator etc.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like a great plan to a healthy life @anomadsoul.

It seems like you're really ready, I think quitting the smoke and strong alcohol is really a big one, now exercising and drinking and eating healthy is next

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62