Living Room Reno : Day 2

in #busy5 years ago

After deciding we wanted to go as black as we could on the tv/feature wall late yesterday arvo, Hubby dashed off to the shop and grabbed 4 litres of 'Night Sky' ~ thank goodness Bunnings closed at 7pm last night!

Unfortunately the 24 hour room challenge also involved moving the camera DVR somewhere else which also involved running cables and adding another power point in the house.

This was all so we could simplify the connections on the feature wall so the holes can be fixed and the wall can be painted properly and the TV can be hung up as soon as it arrived.

So pretty much the painting was left to me and bub.

These days if you leave something physical up to me, straight away don't expect speed. The only time speed comes to play is when:~

  1. I need to go to the loo.
  2. I think theres silver and choccies in the mail.

Otherwise expect a slow snail pace. Which is pretty much how last night's painting rolled..

At about 6:30pm while he was out getting paint I decided to start washing the wall.

20190610_175820.jpg

7:00pm the paint tape went on.

20190610_192900.jpg

And by 7:45pm I was finally finished.

20190610_194053.jpg

The hole in the wall needed addressing so while Hubby sorted out cables and patched the wall up I started hand painting on the edges and by 9:00pm the hole, cable & edges were sorted and I was finally ready to continue painting on the rest of the wall.

20190610_210357.jpg

I wish it was a straight forward paint job but it wasn't.

I had to wait for the plaster to dry before I could paint over it. Then because an electrical point was being added to the house the power had to be turned off for a while so that pushed my time back a bit.

So at 10:30pm last night this was where I was up to with the wall.

20190610_223033.jpg

But since all the other stuff was finally out of the way ~ 10:50pm

20190610_225307.jpg

11:10pm and the first coat was done.

20190610_230925.jpg

Progress at 12:00am and finally time for dinner

20190611_002941.jpg

Let me just mix this blog up by posting food.

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

This right here is a Big Breakfast pie from Mountain High Pies at Wentworth Falls. If you're ever up my way ya gotta stop by and grab one of these babies.

20190611_114815.jpg

If I didn't have this at 4pm I wouldn't have had the energy to keep going til midnight.

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

Ok back to the shifty looking wall.

20190611_002941.jpg

Number 1 lesson learned from last night?
Don't be a tight arse and buy a cheap ass roller.

Our roller caused me so much grief.

Between the handle being kinda flimsy and wobbly and the roller itself being a dodgy material it was a nightmare trying to get the paint on evenly.

We were also having issues with painting over semi dried spots that resulted in the brush picking up the paint from that dried spot and then leaving streaks so we had to wait at least an hour before another coat could be painted on.

Luckily it was Hubby's turn to give the painting a go and finally at 1:50am the wall is looking much better.

20190611_015253.jpg

This is where we are at today.

20190611_120742.jpg

For those wondering...

We're using Taubmans Easy Coat which is a water based, VERY low VOC (Volatile Organic Compound) paint that doesn't smell to high heaven ~ otherwise I dont think this whole exercise would be possible.

Water based and low voc are the two key phrases to look for when painting baby furniture. I fluked paint selection yesterday and got exactly what I needed so that was really lucky.

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

Floetrol saved the day

With about 700ml of paint left, numerous hours and blisters later I was at the brink of defeat when I decided to get the floetrol (paint conditioner that I use for acrylic pouring) out. I added a fair bit to my can of paint, got the freshly washed roller and gave it one last shot.

Might as well since that TV is taking FOREVER 😑

And here it is.....

20190611_161926.jpg

I hope the streaks is because the paint is still sort of wet and that it'll look schmick when it's all dry cos I'm seriously over this wall.

Over all I think it's ok. Either way it'll have to do cos I'm done. If Hubby wants to perfect it he'll have to get more paint but considering he's got the TV in the ute and I want that baby up tonight, I don't know when he'll be able to do another coat of paint.

On the plus side, it's good to have this experience cos bub's room is next!

If given a chance could we survive on The Block?

Ohh hell nah. Choosing the paint colour alone took about 12 hours (imho it took way too long) and I only painted 1 wall and I'm so over it ~ stuff doing hall week.

I think I'll stick to watching it on tele. 😁

I was hoping to show ya'll how the TV looks on the wall but I'm still waiting for Hubby to get home, rather impatiently actually, so I'll have to update yall on that tomorrow.

Hope you guys had a great Tuesday!


bearone.png

MEMBEROFS.png

Team Australia Steem Philippines Steem Silver Gold Qurator Natural Medicine Snbox Alpha

Sort:  

I feel your pain - we're in the middle of doing reno's and painting as well.
Black is the worst colour to get right on a big surface, so well done!

The painting part is brutal but I reckon a few more walls and I just might get the hang of it. I'm finding adding some floetrol to the paint helps out a lot. Helps the roller and paint stay wet longer and really helps with the streaks.

Thanks! Black has certainly been a challenge!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks good! Can't believe you painted into the night though. Very nocturnal. I'd be dead. I like sleep too much.

Thanks Choo! I cant believe it either. I really thought we could make the 24 hour challenge. If I knew it's still be going today I would have slept. It's stuffed my whole week sleep wise 🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.675 which ranks you at #1629 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1628).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39