Canaries Part 4 There's something in the Coffee

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

I was 3 months in the canaries and I went home for the christmas where my father came out with the lines.
You put on some weight out there
Not a line I was used to. I had always been trim and I played alot of football. Even in the Canaries I had played alot of football. I did indeed sport a sort of muffin top that had appeared on me which was not ideal but I hadn't really changed my life style apart from eating hotel food. But I normally ate what I wanted and it didn't affect me before so it wasn't the meals. I never eat until 2 in the afternoon and I would have something light. Then at 7pm I would go all in and eat everything in sight. I was still doing this so what else was I doing. Then I realised, it was the coffee I started drinking.
leche-leche-coffee-in-gran-canaria.jpg

My sister and I never were into hot drinks when we grew up but when I hit Spain I did start drinking coffee. Everyone smoked and I needed something so I started drinking coffee. But not just any coffee. The Canarian coffee was called leche leche. Lots of people correct me and say Cafe con leche but I wasn't. It was called Leche leche (milk milk). So I used to drink 3 a day and this is what was the major contributor to the weight gain. I found out that they used condensed milk instead of the normal stuff to make the coffee and it was extra sweet. A Spanish colleague from Madrid knew of this Canarian latte and he said he was surprised I didn't get diabetes also. So I had to give up my beloved leche leche cafe.
I went back to the hotel cafeine craved and tired. I went upstairs to the restaurant and had a steak. I was the only one in the restarant. It was a quiet January and not many guests were staying. I was reading a book waiting for my meal and I caught sight of Diego Forlan , the Athletico Madrid midfielder. Then I saw Thaigo and I realised Athletico Madrid were actually staying in the hotel. I went down a lift with David De Gea (Goalkeeper now at Manchester United) and found that he was very slight. I love football so my mouth was open looking at one of the best teams in Spain pass me by. After dinner I went up to the pool and Jose Antonio Reyes was up there. I said hello and he asked me where I was from. We had a chat and this guy played in England for the rivals so I was quick to point that out. The next day they played Las Palmas in the cup and hammered them as expected. Screen Shot 2018-11-06 at 23.50.51.png.
At that stage I was learning the language and making friends and my boss was eager to keep me down there. It was a tough job because I had to order stock a month in advance. The delivery left Rotterdam and would take 3 weeks to get to port. Once in port it would take a week to clear customs so orders had to be slick and sharp. My boss basically said he would only visit once a month and that all I had to do was say the words and I would have the position. This was huge for me as I had to make up my mind where I wanted to go. It was paradise down here and when my mother and sister arrived for a visit my mother knew I was happy and she was encouraging me to take it.
Before I went I was going out with Aoife for 4 years so I was keen to get home. But on the other side if it didn't work out with Aoife then I would of regretted my decision for the rest of my life to come home but as most of you know it was the right decision in the end. 43743502_10157812640577926_3063656006811648000_n.jpg

A year in paradise was enough. I could of done with 5 but us Irish love a bit of misery and I hadn't had a cold winter in two years. Also Ireland had effectively gone bankrupt from the Lehman brothers collapse and the nation was in big trouble. There was alot of uncertainty. Reading an Irish paper on a beach made me miss home. Everyone was worried. I needed to come home for a while and show my face. The guys in work held a going away party for me. The Spanish love to dance like myself but they are way better at it.
Screen Shot 2018-11-07 at 00.08.33.png

My time in Spain had come to an end. I came home with lots of memories and 2 stone heavier but I really enjoyed every minute of it. I was home a week and I was called to head office.
You did a great job in Spain and thank you but we have a bigger challenge for you now. We are opening in Germany!!! Would you consider it??
FML.

Sort:  

I know leche leche very well. We have a Portuguese coffee chop here and it is one of their specialties. I don't have sugar in coffee so it is way too sweet for me. I can see forecasting for stock would have been the trickiest part of the job.

You seem to have a knack for running into famous people.

I would have never gotten fat from drinking those coffees - there are some benefits to being lactose intolerant, although I never saw any until now ;) I'm sure a bit of extra weight in the short term was worth it.

4070D27F-7F95-4BAC-9978-9262BBECBF10.jpegAll cats are lactose intolerant as well. There’s are little known fact for you . I went on holidays with my friends back home amd they picked up on it too. They got T-shirts printed .

I'm starting to recognize these guys. I feel like I know them.

It's really interesting to see Irish people abroad. (not the sunburn, but that's a chuckle, to)

All the traveling Irish I have met ( a lot), they always miss home, and go back.
Says a lot about the country.

(I've spent 5 years out of the lat 30 in the UK - and that was only because my dad needed looking after - I wouldn't have been there if it wasn't a good reason)

p.s - sure it wasn't all the pealla? lol (not good for the waistline - carb city..)

I did eat well down there come to think about it . What I find about England is that it is too densely populated . I love the little cities like Bath down south and the country sides .

What I find about England is that it's full of negative, whiny, twats...lol

Hahah! Ah the Irish are a bit moany too!

One big difference is - they keep their sense of humor , even in misery! lolol
(more practice, probably)

Hi, @blanchy!

You just got a 44.68% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.197 which ranks you at #8537 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 247 places in the last three days (old rank 8784).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 306 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




You got a 41.01% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blanchy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

haha! sir blanchy! ok so you got addicted to the condensed milk coffee, that stuff is way to much sugar but you already know that, I'd still have it on special occasions though. Your lady didn't consider going down there, did you guys talk about that?
Ha, in your going away party photo that kid on the left looks like he's about 13!

Hahah everyone thought that about Fergal. He was only 20. A lovely fella from Dundalk in Ireland and guess what . All the girls loved him . He has more notches in his bedpost than Leonardo De Caprio. I asked the better half if she wanted to go down but we were only dating a few months. Do you normally bring apples to orchards @janton? 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

ha! sir blanchy...I have no idea what that last sentence means? You asked her and she said what?

She has a great job and would of had to quit. She came to Germany with me. I will let you think about the last sentence. The penny will drop soon.

oh she went to Germany with you that's great but it isn't the paradise that the Canaries is. well, that's what you said about it, I haven't been there unfortunately.
I don't think the penny is going to drop. In fact I don't know what that means either! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14