Bozzlife: Disaster Recovery Part I

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

image007.jpg


I've never lived in a house with a basement before. My parents house had a crawlspace and the houses I lived in after I moved out were either on a slab or a crawl space. I was pretty excited when @mrsbozz and I found our current bi-level house.

Although they don't happen that often, tornado's are an occasional threat where we live. That means having a basement is an extra layer of protection should one occur.

The thing that always kept me a little hesitant about basements was the chance of them flooding. Unfortunately for us (depending on how you look at it), the latter happened instead of the former.

12:30 AM

Just barely into Wednesday morning our phones started going off with an alert that there was the potential for some flash flooding. I thought to myself that I should probably go downstairs and check the sump pump, but I didn't, rolled over and fell back asleep.

4:00 AM

@mrsbozz has gotten into the habit of waking up an hour earlier than usual through the work week and going downstairs to exercise. I have pretty much gotten used to her routine. Sometimes I mess around on my phone, sometimes I fall back asleep. Sleep was out of the question when I suddenly heard her yelling my name.

image001.jpg


I knew what it had to be before I even went downstairs to look. It had been recommended to us that we get a back-up sump pump when we bought the house. Not having the money for the additional cost I kept putting it off and taking our chances. I fully blame myself for everything that we are no dealing with.

image002.jpg


Sure enough, the sump pump had failed and we were now looking at about 1 to 3 inches of water in our basement. Every room! There wasn't a square inch that had been spared the devastation. I tried to get the old pump working again by unplugging it and plugging it back in, but it was a no go.

Keep in mind, it is probably about 4:30 in the morning right now, so basically nothing is open besides Meijer or WalMart. I quickly hopped in my truck and drove the 15 minutes to town to pick see if either of those stores had a new sump pump.

Luckily, the first store I stopped at, Meijer had one. I snatched it fast in case one of the other non-existent customers at 4:45 in the morning tried to get it first. After paying my left arm for the stupid pump, I rushed home and prepared to install it.

image003.jpg


Raise your hand if you knew that sump pumps need a special connector and a back flow valve before you install them. Hint: my hand is down right now. After realizing it wasn't going to work out of the box, I tried to get the connector and valve off the old pump.

I don't have a pipe wrench and the channel locks I had were much to small to fit around the pipe. Plus it was plastic and I didn't want to risk cracking it. Meanwhile, because I had removed the old pump, more water was flowing back into those house via the exhaust line for the old pump.

image004.jpg


5:45 AM

By now it was close enough to 6 AM that the large home improvement stores would be opening. I quickly hopped back into my truck and drove back into town while @mrsbozz did the best job she could bailing the water that was pouring out of the pipe.

I went into Lowe's and found the connector I needed. Luckily they were sitting right next to the back flow valve otherwise I wouldn't have realized I probably needed one of those too. I grabbed one of each, paid, and made my way back to the house.

image005.jpg


If you look at the picture above closely, you can see the level the water was at around the toilet, tub, and vanity.

7:00 AM

By this time and after some adjustments with a hacksaw to the outflow pipe, I had the new sump pump running non-stop. The old pump was a 1/4 hp pump, and the new one was a 3/4 hp (mostly because that is all they had). It took about two hours before all of the standing water was gone.

Meanwhile, I had remembered seeing something in our home owners insurance about flood damage. I quickly went out too our paperwork and found that by some miracle, we had indeed added coverage to our policy. Albeit a small amount, but anything is better than having to shoulder the full cost ourselves.

I called our insurance company and quickly got a claim started. They let me know that I could use any company I wanted for the recovery so my next call was the 24 hour line of a local business.

image006.jpg


8:30 AM

The guy was on his way to another call in a nearby city, but our house was on his way so he stopped in quick and got the ball rolling.

9:30 AM

By this time the crew had showed up and they were staring to vacuum up what they could of the remaining water. Thanks to our muck boots that we had purchase earlier in the Summer, @mrsbozz and I moved as much of the stuff out of their way as we could.

Sadly, this is just the beginning of what I feel is going to be a long long process. I have been taking pictures as we go and I plan on writing some more installments in this series.

Stay Tuned!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Oh crap dude... what a friggin nightmare. I have friends in Illinois that were talking about sump pumps and i was thinking "what is going on?".... i hope that you can get this situation under control.... that looks disastrous.

Thanks, I appreciate it. During the whole thing I was pretty calm (for me anyway) and kept telling myself it is just stuff. Now that we are in the middle of the recovery process, it is really starting to sink in and I am a bit more depressed about the whole thing.

structural damage?

It doesn't appear so aside from the drywall they had to cut away to let the studs dry. I think I got it pumped out quick enough to avoid any of that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, so sorry to hear about this. I've had this happen in a house with an unfinished basement, and that was bad enough...I can't imagine how much work it's going to be to clean all that up. Best wishes.

Thank you. Right now I just want the smell to go away!

Posted using Partiko Android

That sucks man, I feel for you. Hope you can get it fixed without too much expense.

Thanks! I hope so too! Right now I just want the musty smell to go away!

What a nightmare, and I hope it is over for you soon, what a drama you had getting a sump pump up and running but good you had coverage for flooding

and I have duly noted if when we move we get a place with a basement I will make sure to have two sump pumps

I highly recommend it. If you have city water get one that uses your existing water pressure in case you lose power.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tip, I have added it to my notes for when we start looking :)

I feel sorry for your situation and hope things will sort out well pretty soon.

I should probably go downstairs and check the sump pump, but I didn't, rolled over and fell back asleep.

When reading this though I only thought of one word: karma. When things slip through your fingers this way one can say that it was meant to happen. Same with positive things as well. Good luck with your work there!

Thank you. The sad thing is, my wife had a dream that our basement flooded but she also failed to get up and check. It could have been the difference between one room and the whole basement.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Ahh sorry to hear this @bozz .... I hope things turn out good and that indeed the smell goes away and that damage is in control....

Thanks, me too!

Oh my gosh I’m so sorry this happened to you and your family. I know that was frustrating waking up to. That was a lot of water, I could see the level from the bathroom picture. I really hope the recovery process is not as long as you think it will be. Thank you for sharing because this could really help someone else that may not know about the sump pump.

No problem! We are on about day 4 now and we will see how things go. I finally had to just leave the workers and come into my office because I have missed too much work already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87