Steem Monster Rules - 101 (The Battle Rules)

in #busy6 years ago

This is the second in a series to explain to my friends how Steemmonsters works. The first post is: Steem Monster Rules - 101 (The Beginning). I realize different people have various knowledge levels of the game, so I decided to do a series of different posts to break it down and simplify it. If you are familiar with it, then you will find this boring. But if you are new, then hopefully I can make it simple to see how it works.

Steem Monster Rules - 101 (The Battle Rules)

red-diamond.gif

Rule #1 - Three Ways To Attack

In order to get started with the battle rules, the first thing you need to know is there is 3 different ways to attack an opponent. These three ways are similar in that they do damage to the opposing teams monsters, but different in a) the way they can be defensed and b) deliver strikes from different positions in the the lineup.

The first of these attacks is Melee and it can be thought of as "hand to hand fighting". I picture the old fights where two guys rolled up their sleeves and duke it out with bare knuckles. The symbol for this type of attack is a saw blade and you can see the picture of it below.

melee.png

The second of these attacks is Range and it can be thought of as "an archer shooting an arrow from a long distance". I picture the medieval days of all the archers perched high on a wall and lobbing their arrows into the coming hoards. The symbol for this type of attack is a target and you can see the picture of it below.

range attack.png

The third of these attacks is Magic and it can be thought of as "a spell cast by a sorcerer or witch". I picture Gandalf in Lord of the Rings with his staff bringing major damage to their enemies. The symbol for this type of attack is a purple cloud and you can see the picture of it below.

magic attack.png

red-diamond.gif

Rule #2 - Attack Rules

Today I'm not going to go over the exceptions, but the following rules apply to most of the monster battles (except if the monsters have the ability of SNEEK or SNIPE). So if they have SNEEK or SNIPE, then you have your own special rules that we'll go over another day. Barring these 2 exceptions, here goes:

Melee Attack

Melee can only attack from the first place in the lineup. So when you are lining up your monsters in the order of play, then you want to make sure you have any monsters with melee attack at the front of the line. (Note: if you don't, then your monsters will just sit there and not attack anything).

Melee attacks the other monsters direct to the first in the the lineup. So if you have a melee monster in the first spot, then it will always attack the monster in the first slot of the other team.

Range Attack

Range can attack from EVERY position in the lineup EXCEPT the first place. So if you have 5 monsters doing battle on your team, then range can use its attack power from positions 2 through 5. (Note: be careful where you place your range attack monster because if you have him ever in the first spot, then he will just sit there and get beat on and not attack anything)

Range attacks the other monsters direct to the first one in the lineup. So just like the melee monster, the range monster will also take his arrows and unleash them on the first slot on the other team too.

Magic Attack

Magic can attack from EVERY position in the lineup, no exceptions. They are the most versatile in their attacks.

Magic attacks the other monsters direct to the first one in the lineup too. Just like the melee and range monsters, the magic monster will also give his damage to the first guy on the other team.

Implications Of Attack Rules

The first monster on the opposition team will have his hands full. Excluding the monsters with SNEEK and SNIPE, all 3 of the other types of attack monsters will attack the guy in the first slot. So that is why you want a tank (or big strong monster with lots of health to be first in your lineup). He will take a whooping, so this is a very big factor in setting your team's lineup.

Also, be very careful where the melee and range monsters are placed. You want them to use their attack power as often as possible, so placing them in the right slots will help you get the most hits in as possible.

red-diamond.gif

Rule #3 - Speed Kills, So Pay Attention To It!

As mentioned last week, the cards will fight in the order of their individual speed.

Order of Play is the first rule that you should know exists. That means that your players on your team will go in the order of their "Speed". The faster a monster, the faster he will strike the other opponent (and thus maybe eliminating a player first).

SM 101d.png

So when you have a choice in setting your lineup, you want the faster monster (if all other things are equal). If you strike 2 times and the other guy has a slower monster and he can only strike once, then it might mean the difference of life and death.

One last note, the abilities like "heal" and "poison" will go at the end of all the monsters' strikes. So if your monster gets killed before it can be healed, then it will be dead and gone and no heal can apply.

red-diamond.gif

Sample Team Lineup (19 of 20 Mana Used)

sample red team.png

This ends today's basic lesson. These are 3 rules that I think everyone should know when first starting out with this very cool game. There are other posts that you can get more info if you feel you are ready to go to the next step, like this one:

Steem Monsters Gameplay Mechanics Revealed!

Feel free to ask any questions in the comment section and I will be happy to answer to the best of my ability!

red-diamond.gif

I will be doing a followup where I expand on the topics discussed soon. I like to give out info in smaller bites so that people can consume it easier. But I also encourage anyone to ask any questions below in the comment section and I will be happy to answer to the best of my ability.

Also if you haven't seen a match with the cards yet, check out this match with me and @yabapmatt. It shows how awesome this game is going to be, and just remember we are all still very much in the beginning! No real gameplay has even started yet ;)

(Note: run in 0.25x speed)

red-diamond.gif

Sort:  

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, davemccoy.

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

cool... Thank you all for this service its awesome! And if anyone reads these comments, can we do this for other people that write steemmonster related post? Or just ourselves?

Let's find out.

lol... it worked! Very cool @tcpolymath! Thank you for both the vote and the answer :D

Hi @davemccoy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.687 which ranks you at #1462 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is very cool! I love it! Thank you :)

Awesome Info. Love it!

Thank you @clove71! I am hoping we can show people how this game isn't so hard after you learn a few rules! I think we have a ton of potential out there to tap! ;)

Great explanation of the game @davemccoy
Really looking forward to playing Steemmonsters with all my mates :)

Thanks @bitcoinkings :) It was nice to chat with you today and I look forward to playing the games with my friends too! It should be a blast and rewarding too :D

Thank you for doing this @davemccoy.

I'm still getting my head around Lesson 1 but know this will be a great help.

Can you point me in the direction of the video that has commentary on it. I can't find it and I can't remember who made it.

I think it might make more sense now I have the information in this post. 😁

You're welcome and sure I can do that... Here is the link and it was done by @jarvie who does a great play by play analysis!

Here's my match: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@monsterworld/match-analysis-for-steemmonsters-3-yaba-vs-davemccoy

Here's another match too: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@monsterworld/steemmonsters-match-analysis-2

Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with! :D

Thank you @davemccoy. I've copied and pasted them into my notes so I can look at them when I have some spare time.

I'm not sure why I didn't just do that in the first place! 😁

Wait, What? You are playing 5 cards and yaba only 3. Does this mean you don't need a team of 4? Just have to be careful of the Mana total.
This changes everything in my mind.

yes and you you can play any number of cards you like as long as they total 20 mana... I think that is the max possible based on the mana at this point, but if they came out with 1 mana monsters then theoretically we could have 20 monsters on a team! Like a swarm of bees :P

It is very interesting and enlightening to put together mock teams to find out what works good with what!

Very Nicely done!

Thanks @jarvie! That is a very nice thing to say! :D

I'm going to bookmark this series in steempeak tomorrow so I can study them, lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! if you have any questions, you know where to find me ;) ... I'm willing for sure to help my teammate out :D

Two thumbs up Dave!

Thanks Doc! Always good to hear your thoughts on anything I do! :D

It is very useful tips . Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome and glad you like it! If I can ever help, please let me know :)

곰돌이가 @hersnz님의 소중한 댓글에 시세변동을 감안하여 $0.002을 보팅해서 $0.028을 지켜드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 203번 $2.279을 보팅해서 $2.973을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36