Steem Monster Rules - 101 (Your Monster Levels Matter)

in #busy6 years ago

This is the third in a series to explain to my friends how Steemmonsters works. The first post is: Steem Monster Rules - 101 (The Beginning) and the second post is: Steem Monster Rules - 101 (The Battle Rules). I realize different people have various knowledge levels of the game, so I decided to do a series of different posts to break it down and simplify it. If you are familiar with it, then you will find this boring. But if you are new, then hopefully I can make it simple to see how it works.

Steem Monster Rules - 101 (Your Monster Levels Matter)

red-diamond.gif

Rule #1 - A Monster Can Gain Levels

If you remember back to our 1st lesson, you will remember that "Summoners" are key to what level of monsters you can play. So if your summoner is a level 2, then all your monsters will play at level 2 or below. Conversely, if your rare summoner is a rare level 8, then your monsters can play at full potential. So don't forget the first lesson, and if you don't understand this, then please go back to lesson 1.

Each monster has a group of stats and potential abilities that get stronger as the card gets more experience (aka "gains levels"). There are 2 ways for your monster to get this experience (defined as XP):

#1 Monsters can earn experience through playing in @steemmonster hosted games (both individual battles and tournaments). Each time a card is played it will earn something in these contests, but the exact definitions are yet to be disclosed. Suffice it to say that they will cater to both the avid player and the casual player, and find ways to make both grow over time!

#2 Monsters can earn experience through "merging" with other cards of their production run. So for instance, if you have bought the "alpha edition" cards already and you have 2 Level 1 Medusa's. You can combine the first Medusa with the second Medusa and make a brand new card that will be a Level 2. (NOTE: as you go up levels this gets much harder and requires many many cards.)

If anyone needs any help in how to level your cards on the Steem Monster market, please ask in the comment section and we can help you!

red-diamond.gif

Rule #2 - Your Monsters Gain Power As They Grow

In the beginning you will see what stats and abilities (if any) that your monster has. (see below)

SM card explained.png

As you gain levels then all these stats can grow larger and your card becomes more powerful. In addition, at certain levels some cards get new abilities (like in the example card: Group Heal). To see what stats and abilities a monster will get at a particular level then you can go to your "Collection" and click on the card. Then you click on "Stats" (see pic below):

sm stats.png

I've highlighted the level at which the Crustacean King gets another ability called "Protect", which is level 6. So if you want this ability added to your cards in battle, then you need this monster to be a level 6. As you can see, the Crustacean King is a support card so his main powers are his abilities to help his teammates. If you were to look at a "tank" then you might see their attack power or health levels really grow as they get more levels earned.

If you aren't familiar with what happens to your cards as they gain more levels, then I strongly encourage you to check out the different levels of each card in your deck and decide which powers you like and which ones you don't. All cards are different and strategy will be important.

red-diamond.gif

Rule #3 - Develop Strategy Based On Mock Decks

I made a sample team in the last lesson and that is a good example of making a "mock deck". For those that didn't see it, here it is again (below):

sample red team.png

The reason for making these mock decks is to develop a strategy and decide which cards you want and which cards you don't. Also you want to decide what to level up and what not to level up based on your budget for the game. Not everyone has an unlimited amount of funds to level up everything, so picking which cards work best for you is a good exercise to do!

So lets look at the team I selected in the example and I will show you things to consider.

sm mock team.png

Of course you will do your own teams in all the different colors. And when doing them you will make determinations on what cards are best to not only have, but which levels you want them. Some cards are better when leveled versus others, so using this type of mock deck will help you make good choices!

If you have any questions or want an opinion on your mock deck, just reply in the comment section and I will be happy to help!

red-diamond.gif

This ends today's basic lesson. These are 3 rules that I think everyone should know when first starting out with this very cool game. There are other posts that you can get more info if you feel you are ready to go to the next step, like this one:

Steem Monsters Gameplay Mechanics Revealed!

I will be doing a followup where I expand on the topics discussed soon. I like to give out info in smaller bites so that people can consume it easier. But I also encourage anyone to ask any questions below in the comment section and I will be happy to answer to the best of my ability.

Also if you haven't seen a match with the cards yet, check out this match with me and @yabapmatt. It shows how awesome this game is going to be, and just remember we are all still very much in the beginning! No real gameplay has even started yet ;)

(Note: run in 0.25x speed)

red-diamond.gif

Sort:  

Awesome Post as usual! I have pinned this in the Steem Monster's Discord #strat-chat :-)

Thank you very much @clove71 ... I like it when you like it, because I know you are as big a fan as me :D

Good review!!

I've just not had time to even assess what I have and if they are much cop, might pick up a few betas though 😊

Hey Asher! I just looked at your deck, you are doing well... I didn't think you had hardly any, so this was a nice surprise! I think the betas will be a lot cheaper and give people a good opportunity to get some nice cards cheap!

ps... I also have a fun project coming soon that I hope to include you in... so keep learning what you can on the monsters because it might come in handy ;)

How can you inspect other peoples decks? I wanted to that as well but couldn't find the option.

That is one I can help you with :) ... If you go to peakmonsters, you just put their name in where I put your name:

https://monsters.steempeak.com/@flauwy/collection

From there you can sort anyway you like! Let me know if I can help you with anything else!

Cool, that is super helpful. Thank you for that.

if you have any more questions, just ask! I am always happy to help if I can :) ... have a good day and great job on the 1up token! I think you guys will do really well :)

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, tcpolymath.

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

Thank you very much @steemmonsters and also to @tcpolymath! That is very cool of you to do and its definitely appreciated :)

Thanks @davemccoy, I really enjoy your 101 series, and it is really becoming compulsory reading to get a better grasp on the game. One day, when someone writes a "#SteemMonsters for Dummies" book, no doubt it will be referencing your 101 series! 😃

I've started playing with different team configurations now, to see what I can build. The #ContestKings SteemMonsters guild captain, @o07, has challenged us with some Teams to build, such as putting together a Ferexian  (Fire/Red) Splinter Team of up to 20x Mana. Here is one of the Teams that I put together for that challenge.

I'm still learning the various different roles for the monsters, such as "tank", "support", etc. Your 101 posts here are helping me a lot to understand that part of it more. Thanks!


🙚   SteemMonsters:Site   • Discord   • Contest Kings Guild!   |  Steempunk.net:Site   • Discord   |   Chibera:   • Site   • Discord   🙘

That's a good selection of cards and I like how you are doing it... I also use a spreadsheet to do my mock teams. Now that you've selected the players on the team, what order do you plan on playing them? (Hint: that is a future topic, but since you're ready for it, lets see what you would choose?)

Pick your batting order with Malric up first since he's the summoner:

  1. Malric Inferno
  2. ?
  3. ?
  4. ?
  5. ?

And wonderful job here!!! Good to see you getting this down ;)

Thanks @davemccoy, yes, my spreadsheet doesn't have the "position" that each will have on the Team yet, but that is something I will be adding to it, including their "role", once I learn more about these aspects (looking forward to your next 101 post). Here's what I'm thinking so far for this fantasy team...

  1. Malric Inferno
  2. Pit Ogre (tank)
  3. Giant Roc (support)
  4. Fire Demon (support)
  5. Kobold Miner (support)
I've also highlighted the Stats or Abilities that I think make those monsters particularly appropriate for those specific positions. Note that most of the monsters in my lineup here take advantage of the Melee boost of the Summoner. I should mention, that in this exercise with the #ContestKings guild, we were allowed to presume that all monsters were fully leveled up. My own Ferexian  contingent wouldn't have all of these Abilities unlocked, haha. I'm keen to learn what you think of my lineup, and how it can be improved. Thanks so much, Dave.

You did a great job there! With the Giant Roc behind the Pit Ogre you have two pretty fierce cards attacking back to back. When the Ogre goes down you will have the Roc doing some pounding of his own!

My Analysis
What you are doing there is stacking "Melee" attackers. The upside is that when one goes down you have an equally strong replacement stepping in his place. The downside is that you won't get a double punch from them both at the same time because the melee attack won't work from any other position from the first. So the Roc will sit there not attacking as long as the Ogre is alive and kicking.

This is a strategy that I think many will use on especially the Red team because there are so many good melee attackers to choose from. Plus each melee attacker will also get a boost of melee from the summoner too. This makes this strategy very viable on the red team and I imagine their matches will be short with lots of blood spilled fast :P

Good job and I think you have the concept down very fast and will do very very good in this game @trisquelwhare! I'm impressed!!!

ps... very good job on giving the highlights of the stats you think are what make a monster good... It will be a helpful tool as you expand your number of teams in not only the Reds, but also the other splinters!

Hello @davemccoy :) You are doing a great job for the beginners with those post. Respect! Please tell me how was it possible for you to play against @yabapmatt already? I want to play too :P

Really well done tutorial series. I loved all three. Thank you for that. Check out my special 1UP Steem Monster airdrop and earn UP tokens and gold foil cards.

I will do that right now... Thank you very much for the kind words too!

Well detailed and explained. More knowledge have been acquired. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @maxijgcomm! I'm glad I can help and glad you are giving me your feedback too :)

Hi @davemccoy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.688 which ranks you at #1456 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1462).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Wow... I love the detailed analysis and how you rank both posts and the account! Thank you :)

I missed the second part but made it late to this one. I don't think I can ever catch up with the game. Work is busy, life is busy, stinking cold. I need another vacation!

Thanks for the another set of guide!

Good tutorial for newbies @davemccoy, I will mention it to anyone who's going to get into Steem Monsters. Cheers.

That's awesome @palasatenea! Thank you and appreciate the feedback too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71