My Little Friend: The Emprit (Finch Bird)

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0070.jpg

We cannot avoid the destiny, sooner or later, what must be happened will happen. When life comes to an end, there is no warning!. It comes straight away to our face. And eventually we need to deal with that. There are two ways of dealing with it. Accept it as the fact and live with that pain and recover ourselves, or reject it as the fact and put ourselves into torment and pain and lose for the rest of our life.

It was a shiny day after a few days getting rain over day and night. I was preparing my gear to pick the cocoa from my farm (I will tell you about my cocoa farm later on). I started it in the morning to speed up the process. I am a farmer, used to do this kind of works for years. I enjoyed the chanting of the nature, birds singing over and over. Sometimes I watch it standing on the branches and looking at me, watching what I am doing. They are my friend!

A little friend

DSC_0020.jpg
On her 2nd day with me, she marked my finger with her feces. I love her so much. She was still a little nestling. I think it was about one week old.

While picking the cocoa, I did some pruning for thinning the cocoa trees. I walked under the bushy branches and did not aware that there was a nest on the branch covered by leafs, and I swung Tramontina (a Brazilian machete) on my hand. A toe size branch was cut off. It felt down to the ground and then I saw a little nest, but I paid no attention into it. Taking a deep breath and rested for a little while was a good choice after 1.5 hours working, a sip of water went through my throat, and small pollution with a lucky strike, the second since the morning. 15 minutes later, I heard a tweet from a little beak, criiieppp….and the story was started to begin here.

I found a little finch trying to flap it wings, but it still too weak to fly, I stood there, thinking what I should do about her (it is not because I knew it is a female, but I call “her” because it beauty). I decided to take her home. I had some experience to rise up little birds before, do you remember Upin and Ipin the two little finch birds I adopted a few months ago?. Some of you might be.

She needed food, I gave her rice after soaking in the water for little while, that is a good food for finch birds. Days and nights, she brought me happiness every time I feed her. I had a cage for her since Upin and Ipin had gone forever because of illness (later on I found they were poisoned by rusty zinc roof sheet of my home). Both of them death because picked on that metal, I did not find a cure for such things. I did not do all my best to save them.

Within 6 six days, it started to fly around but not strong enough to fly outside, only in the small room of mine, where I kept her for meanwhile. I trained her to flay by putting her on my palm and move it up and down. By that way she flapped her wings to keep balancing on my hand. Within a week she started to pick the rice by herself from my hand, it was a great achievement of my effort to keep her alive. "I would make it this time" I talk to myself. I was so sure about it. Her feather was growing nicely, and the color was started to show as a juvenile and about to become an adult.

Time to fly

DSC_0096.jpg

Every morning I bring her outside and give her time to fly and meet some new friends

Two weeks ago, I let her fly away outside the house after feeding her with rice. She flies away happily, while singing…, she stopped at very high branch of the highest tree at my back yard. I thought it is her time to come back to her habitat, and met her real family for her own good. But I was wrong, she returned to me at the evening for food and shelter, I saw her looking for me, I whistled to her, and taking no time for her to land on my arm… I brought her inside and feed her, put her in the plastic cage. I did the same thing from that day on. Opening the cage outside and let her fly to play with her friends, perhaps she can find a cute boy friend, I saw she made it, another finch approached her nicely on the branch. I was so happy for her.

Getting sick

DSC_0001.jpg
Her head was rigid, and she could not pick the rice by herself anymore. She looks very sick a day after flying around my house.

DSC_0006.jpg
She was not able to stand, She got cramp and could not move her wings without falling upside down. It is her condition at the second day of sickness.

On the third day, she played outside, I noticed something had gone wrong with her, she mostly close her eyes, and her feathers were unfolded, it was the sign that she was being sick. I gave her rice as usual, but she had lost her appetite. She got rest in the cage finally, late at night I checked her, and I was so sad to find her unable to flap her wings anymore…she just lay down on the clothes at the bottom of the cage. I was sad, I did not know what to do. The next morning, she was totally unable to move, I took her and I gave her rice mix with some pellets I bought for her another day.

I went to coffee shop to get internet connection and try to find the answer of what happen to my little friend. I searched and found some interesting fact about it, I found that the sign of my bird was match with the heavy metal poisoned condor birds, and there is no cure for the kind of thing has been found currently or at least the site mention it that way. Since I knew it (or I guessed that was what happen), I decided to do something, It could be the experiment.

DSC_0037.jpg

DSC_0039.jpg

This kind of rusty roof sheet will be poisoning the bird easily

The cure

By midday, I saw no hope for her illness because she was getting worst, she could not stand anymore. I found no cure on the net, I have tried many sites to find something similar to her illness. It never came into my mind to give up and just waits for her to die. Suddenly, I remember something, something I could try. I took no time to do all my best to help her. I went to my back yard and took a fresh lemon from the tree. Little amount of lemon juice mix with warm water, as I knew lemon possess high antioxidant, I hope it could help her to reduce the poison in her blood. By midday, I gave her the juice while feeding her with rice. 5 drops of lemon juice and it was mixed with about 50 ml warm water. I tasted it to ensure it was not too sour nor too hot, I gave her 2 little drops directly into her beak, I saw her swallowed it, and let her took rest in the cage.

DSC_0050.jpg
It was a great surprise when I saw her, getting much better, and she was able to fly on my finger

I came back from my working place earlier to see her condition, she was tweeting louder. She was asking for food, I prepared the rice for her, and when I opened the cage she was there flapping her wing away from the cage. She is getting back as if she never got sick before, with one whistle she landed on my arm for peaking her food. I was so happy because the lemon juice works really well. I wish I could see here grow and having a family just like the other finch birds singing the morning chant for me every single day.

DSC_0043.jpg

TO BE CONTINUED…

This is the real story of my little friend, I will tell you the end of the day of my little friend with me. I hope you enjoy the story. If you love birds and you have ever had a problem alike, and you haven't found any cure then you could try lemon juice to cure them.

With my best regard

@el-nailul

Hope for the best and prepare for the worst

5whcwh2cf5.pngPlease joint us on discord channel at https://discord.gg/RZkxq5


Mari bergabung dengan kami di discord channel : https://discord.gg/chBPxM

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Hi @el-nailul, thank you for sharing with us your inspiring story of your friend. She is really cute and small and it is really nice that you guys found each other. I hope she will recover soon. I am happy to read that she was back to her normal self after the lemon juice. You are a healer, do you know that? Not many will be able to do what you do. I admire you for that.

you are most welcome @marblely, she is recovered really well now, and starting to have her own experience to find her own food in the wild. but sometime I saw her around too

Oh yay! I love seeing birds happy and flying free in the sky. I hope she comes to visit often :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes me too @marblely. so beautiful to see the freedom of her

There's my friend with the big heart!! Such a sweet story. Yes, I got tears in my eyes. I 'm very happy you were able to save your friend.

hi hi nice to see you here @tryskele, thank for stopping by. Yes she is good so far...the poison is really strong. the problem is she does have any experience what she is picking for since she is with me, but she is okay, I hope I can show the vidoe of her life

oooooh .. this is so touching ! I hope your little friend gets better and strong enough to fly for herself .. this reminds me when I took in a little owl baby for a couple weeks.. she ( I think it was a she ) was injured but recovered quite fast.. we released her and she sometimes came back for a visit but eventually just left to be in nature :) . Loved this read!

Hello @pechichemena, thank you for stopping by my post. Your story about the Owl should be posted on steem i think. I would love to read about that. My little friend is happy and well now

Alhamdulillah akhirnya sembuh, tadi baca diatas kirain ga ada harapan..ternyata harapan itu hadir di akhir cerita..#terharu..terima kasih infonya ttg jus lemon bang @el-nailul

Ya akhirnya dia sembuh, stelah dua hari pengobatan intensive kak @inesanugerawati

Hello @ el-nailul, how touching and encouraging your story, the chick is still alive?

I like that people are interested in nature, I'm from Venezuela and live in a rural area so since I was a child I have known how to appreciate nature and its diversity, I was researching something about intoxication in birds. and I got with this page http://www.infoexoticos.com/intoxicaciones-en-aves/

I hope it helps.

Zinc poisoning: is mainly caused by birds' access to galvanized metal (such as the frequently used homemade mesh cages) and coins. Although many low-quality cages and toys are made from brass (copper alloy and zinc) they are also the cause of zinc poisoning. Zinc is an essential element in the metabolism of the bird but its excess can produce alterations in the function of the exocrine pancreas. It causes effects at digestive level, reproductive (decrease in egg laying), abnormal molts and hemolytic anemias (studied in Amazonas ventralis by Litte and Smith in 1998).

is interesting because according to the page it says that zinc is part of your metabolism but excess can be harmful.

but your cunning beat a vet, I would have thought to use lemon or some acid but diluted to counteract the action of oxide.

Thank you for sharing this publication, this very nice bird I hope will recover.

Ahaa thank you very much @arrozymangophoto, I have heard about condor which was poisoned because they ate the contaminated corpse by iron (copper, tin). From that article I found the answer of what happen to my little friend. and this link will be so helpful for the next time i face same problem

I'm glad I can help. Birds are definitely weaker than we imagined.

Just thinking about the traffic of birds that exists in our South American countries, to countries like USA or Europe is terrible.

greetings brother, I hope to see more anecdotes of your nature

This is an absolutely incredible story! First off I'm in awe that the little bird would come back to you after it first learned to fly. How cool is that?!?!

From your story you sound like you have such a gentle soul and warm heart. It's amazing that you were able to locate why she was getting sick and fix it with lemon juice. And who knew? Lemon juice! I love that you were able to save the little birds life. I don't know if I would have had the patience like you! I would have thought all is lost.

Thank you so much for sharing your story and pictures of bringing this little bird from baby to adult and from sickness to life again. Good on you and keep sharing your stories.

Cheers!

thank you @jocqua, it is the connection we have had so far, she knew I have food for her and she is comfortable to be with me so far. it is not my first time for me to rise up little finch bird. There are at least 12 nests on the trees around my home, it about 2 or 3 meter away from my porch. At first time, it was a year ago, I found 5 little birds from the fallen tree. I raised them all, but one of them did not make till grown up, and from those 4, then they made 2 nests around, but know there are many of them, I believe that they are from the 4 first I adopted.

I love her very much, that is why I tried my best to find the cure, thank for stopping by my blog

No problem @el-nailul! Keep up the great work your'e doing with the bird life around your home. From what I read and the pictures you've shared, it seems like you're doing a great job at supporting their little ecosystem. I wish you luck with your new friend and I hope she continues to thrive!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

oh, sungguh cerita yang menyentuh bung! Mari kita bedah besok artikel ini sebagai sebuah contoh tulisan personal yang apik :D

Setuju banget mas @gibic

ahahaha...kalian berdua ini bisa aja ...apa hasil bahasannya udah sesuai harapan gak ni tadi mas @gibic dan kak @rayfa

Top banget :)

Oh My God.. it's nice story about your little friend.. terharu saya... gak tau mau komen apa.. hiksss

ahahah..kita udah bahas semuakan tadi kak @rayfa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34