Hutspot! A Dutch classic.

in #busy5 years ago

IMG_0688.jpg


The nights are already getting longer in the Netherlands.

It's 20:00 and it's already completely dark.

It will only get worse and also colder from now till about March next year.

A perfect time to make a Dutch classic called Hutspot.

Usually served in the fall and winter (but I eat it all year round)..

It's basically mashed potatoes with carrots and onions with added bacon and mustard.

And to top it of in the centre a nice gravy with slow cooked meat.

It sure hit the spot!


IMG_0691.jpg



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

but but but long nights are romantic one's hehehe 😍😘🤩 yup the more colder the weather the more longer night would be...

You got a 63.25% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @hassanabid!

"And to top it of in the centre a nice gravy with slow cooked meat."

That's the best part of it!

This looks great @exyle! I grew up in a Belgian household and we used to eat Ustzaput! I'm guessing on the spelling, but I think it's basically the same dish, minus the bacon. My mom would cook the meat and everything together, but boy was it good. My mouth is watering looking at yours and thinking of hers!

Thank you for sharing :)

From watching a Belgium chef I think they call it Stoemp over there. Stoemp the common name for everything mashed. This 1 being Wortel Stoemp (Carrot Mash). Then again I'm not sure I'm not from Belgium we call these type of dishes 'Stamppot' in Dutch.

And yes, It's nice how food can bring back memories.

We used to eat this dish too! I came from a half Belgian family, (other half Scottish and Engish) so we ate a hodge podge of different foods...

Cool! Do you still eat is today?

Yes, I make this for my family quite often. They tell me if I don't make it soon enough! LOL

That looks awesome. I am a big fan of mashed potatoes. They are actually my favorite way to have potatoes. My wife makes some amazing mashed potatoes. I will have to show this to her. I showed her the post of the kind of food you guys get at your bulk store the other day and she about fell out of her chair. She said you mean they don't just have pizza? :)

LOL! Yeah that food from the bulk store is pretty decent right! I'm also a big fan of mashed potatoes. It's basically my childhood. My sister would only eat mash with spinach and nothing else, so we eat that many times a week for many years. Still haven't grown tired of it.

Sounds like Canada... we are getting ready for hibernation here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't mind the cold so much but the shorter I'm not a big fan. I like light.

Mashed potatoes, bacon and some meat. It cant go wrong!

I agree! :)

Excellent dish, my friend and this combination of ingredients looks very appetizing and I am sure that this dish is very tasty! Thanks Mark

Ammm that look great i have to try it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73