my curating account experiment

in #busy5 years ago

Running Curation Accounts on Steem

37 days I transferred 1920 Steem and powered that up on the account @firefuture.

The name comes from the FIRE movement. Financial independence Retire Early.

And I wanted to make see what kind of return I could get by finding good curatable accounts on the Steem blockchain and to see what kind of returns I could get

Now 30 full days later I made 31 Steem so that is roughly a little over 15 Steem per 1000 steem. 1.5% per month is 18% on a yearly basis.
All that without self voting (not posting or commenting)
I think that with a little bit of tweaking this can even be more then that. We will see what the future brings but if the new hard fork arrives and we are getting 50% curation then this will be a very lucrative way to run an account.
I still have some Steem on an exchange so I might open another account and set it up in a similar way. As long as this is possible this will give me a nice ROI per year that does not impact my main account.

Screen Shot 2019-06-09 at 22.40.38.png

Screen Shot 2019-06-09 at 22.43.33.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-09 at 22.45.15.png

I am just wondering if I am the only one doing this or if anyone is doing something similar??
I do not have the skills to code bots but this is a good way to get some additional return if you know how to navigate the network.

Sort:  

on auto or manual?

All on autovotes

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks, i tried just manual curation for awhile - i found out i'm not that benevolent lol

I've been thinking about this! :D Are you deliberately curating content that you know will get big votes? Because that's the 'fear' for 50/50, that people will start frontrunning content, so the biggest rewarded posts will only get more votes haha! Not sure if that will happen, but curious how you decide what you'll curate for bigger ROI.

Cheers and good luck on FIRE!

That is absolutely what is going to happen. But that's always been the case. You can't fix curation by tweaking the math. Curation done with app specific tokens in real communities where every behavior falls under the watchful eye of the community is the way to keep people curating honestly. STEEM, SBD and SP are now working as well as they possibly can. But that's ok as long as SP gets distributed widely enough because its main purpose is securing the network by voting reliable witnesses.

Yea, I kind of gave been looking at ocdb users and authors with bigger payouts. But not trending since those are not good for curation. It’s kinda like 2nd or 3rd Tier with good consistent content

Posted using Partiko iOS

This made me think. I'm doing the same, but with a couple of accounts with only a little SP. Maybe I should merge those accounts into one - combine the SP, so the speak.

Problem is, I'm a terrible curator, lol. I'm only just learning the ropes.

I do want to make sure I only upvote content that is worth it. No way I want to encourage people who post bad rubbish. That means I'm still looking for people of whom I'm sure I can set my autovote on.

Good idea, I check or know the authors I vote for. But sitting there waiting for them to post and then being ready at the best second to vote is impossible. I would not go over 2k SP but if it’s lower you are indeed better combining them

Posted using Partiko iOS

sitting there waiting for them to post and then being ready at the best second to vote is impossible.

hahaha, indeed.

The account is still a work in progress, lol. So many things to do, so little time 😉

very true... less binge watching TV, more investing in the future

I combine both, lol.
Often with one eye on the laptop and one eye on the TV screen ;0)

You are doing well and can only improve from here. I am at around 4.2-4.4 SP per 1000 SP currently and just last week up until tonight was at 24 SP which is over 4.8 SP. I need to set up an alt account for curation as i do believe 7 SP is possible as I am voting comments and doing steemhunt with my account now. Just straight I know it is hugely profitable and good to see what you are doing. My advice would be to go and look and don't go for the obvious ones.

yea, but I do want to stick to my principles and vote for "decent" content creators.
I could prob get more but then I would vote for rubbish in a sense.
But the returns are still good. I just need to make some tweaking and can ramp them up. I might even set up a second one.

I need to follow your voting habits, on 13k steem I only earned 56. I have never curated for financial gain, it will be interesting to see how the HF changes habits

Yes, I am really curious how the HF will affect it. And sadly to get more curation income you need to automate it. But I try to stick with authors that have own good content

Posted using Partiko iOS

Is it after 15 minute voting

No. At any time that is most profitable according to beempy.com

Maybe i will check that site out

Where does one find that info on beempy? If I try to use one of the fields on the homepage, i get an error message...

you have to cut out the gateway of the post you are about to check
so do NOT use the full post post
https://busy.org/@felander/social-media-is-like-tobacco
but Paste
@felander/social-media-is-like-tobacco

Thanks. I didn't even know this existed. I used to use Steemworld to see at what time people voted. This is way easier

yea, its perfect to optimise the auto voting you have...
I am a good one to auto vote on actually... :-)
but when checking go for posts older then 7 days to get a feeling for what time is best

Good tip, thanks.
I do think it's a bit confusing that vote values are shown in SBD, though.
Nevertheless, it's a whole new world, lol.

I'm definitely going to merge my small accounts and reconfigure everything.

This was one of the most valuable discoveries of the year :0)

(It always surprises me to find out how little I know about the available tools here, lol)

I've done something similar. I created an account and put 500 steem on it. I'm using steemvoter service with it. I post 1 post a week. With that account I make roughly 18% p.a. I thought it might be interesting for small purses to participate in such a Roi. So I tokenized the account and interested people can buy these tokens on steem-engine.
The owners of this Hvote tokens own a part of the underlying @happyvoter account. If people own more than 2% of the tokens in circulation they get in addition a systematic upvote to all their posts. I think its quite an interesting project😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You got a 57.20% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @felander! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations @felander! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 9000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64804.67
ETH 3109.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27