Freewrite Day 657 Seed Saving

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

freewrite seed saving fitinfun.jpg

My mother used to practice the art of seed saving. We moved often and she gardened as soon as we got anywhere with dirt. She liked to grow vegetables that came up quickly in case we moved fast again.

Whenever a crop came up well, she would save seeds if she could. Then she would comment that it wasn’t the same in the new climate or conditions. But nothing would stop her from trying.

I did not pay a lot of attention to my mom’s homemaking skills. I wish now I had. I think of her resourcefulness, thriftiness, energy, and imagination often now that she is gone. I would like to get her advice at times, though she would be horrified at how my life has turned out.

I rarely gardened with her. That was something my brother often did. I was not going to be a homemaker. I was destined to “have a career” and so none of those skills mattered to me while growing up.

But isn’t it funny to find out all of those skills are needed, no matter where you end up in the world? I try my best to remember and make her proud. Maybe sometimes I succeed.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on STEEM when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting, and I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

We never know what life has in store for us...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88