Freewrite Day 711 Civil Rights

in #busy4 years ago (edited)

freewrite civil rights fitinfun.jpg

Civil rights is a nebulous term, and caring about this concept gives you one more chance and reason not to focus on and take care of the things you can. Concepts like this are what I fight in weight loss coaching

But let me give you an example from the world of ptsd.

My son has ptsd and I am one of his worst triggers. So it is very hard for me to help him directly or to heal myself from the hurt, guilt and grief. When I first faced up to the fact that he has it, I joined a lot of online ptsd support groups to see what I could find out.

The first thing was that yes, he has it. So many comments in those groups could have been said by him, or I have already heard him say them. And second, there is a way I can help.

Now I go in a few times a year and reply to people’s comments where I can. I say I am a mom without ptsd and give input to relevant posts, of which there are usually many. People are estranged from their families and moms, and so some times I can fill in a bit. They say, "I wish my mom was like you." I say, "She is like me."

One Christmas a few years ago a girl wrote of the damage she suffered, and some of how her ptsd was currently making it hard to function. Her last sentence was:

From now on, I am going to fix justice.

So I asked, “What is justice, and what ideas do you have to fix it?”

Justice is unfairness in the world and I am going to fight it.

I asked if she had any specific injustice, and specific ways to fight.

Then a bunch of people piled on to tell her to focus on herself. She was not strong enough to take on the bigger task.

Replace "justice” with “civil rights” and you have the same thing. If you want to fight for a random concept, at least bring it home. Are your civil rights being trampled? Get out of that situation, or try to improve it. Do you know someone close to you with this problem instead? Help them.

If you do not know anyone who has a problem with civil rights, then why are you on this topic at all? Isn’t there something you could specifically do to help your self or someone else?

For example, how is your weight and general health?

NOTE: 90% of the photos and illustrations for "civil rights" show people with their hand out. What's up with that?

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on STEEM when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting, and I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

steemitmamas.png

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

Sort:  

Perhaps that’s what people think their civil rights are…..the right to free stuff. But as we know, it’s not free. There is no public money, only other people’s money.
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery team here with the challenge for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-712-5-minute-freewrite-dwednesay-prompt-baby-talk

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

So late to reply, @deirdyweirdy. Thank you for the prompt. Money flies everywhere, you just have to catch it. I need to work on this skill.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73