My Road to STEEMfest Planning is Coming Along

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Road to STEEMfest 2 travel plans fitinfun.jpg

I am going to STEEMfest 4 and making plans now. The event is in Bangkok, and I am in Kuala Lumpur these days, so how could I not?

This is the STEEMfest introduction post by @roelandp:

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@roelandp/save-the-date-steemfest-bangkok-thailand-6-7-8-9-10-november-2019-let-s-go

Travel Dates

I will leave Malaysia on Oct 29 due to my visa requirement in this country. I have to be out by that date since that is the end of my 90 days I get on a tourist visa. So this means I have 13 nights in Bangkok at the shortest.

Travel to Bangkok and back to Kuala Lumpur

I looked up airfare from Kuala Lumpur and it looks like I will pay about 130 myr ($30 usd) for a one way flight to Bangkok. The flight back is more expensive, but I will not be on it.

I plan to return by train and bus since I will have a lot of luggage and liquids. I left a half empty suitcase with friends when I left Bangkok last year, and I plan to fill it up.

So many things I need and use daily are cheaper in Bangkok than in Malaysia, so I will take advantage of this opportunity. How much coconut oil can I bring over the border? I will find out, and bring the maximum I can!

My return trip cost will be about $40 usd and be taken with an overnight train from Bangkok to the border and a bus to Kuala Lumpur the next day. The train reservation cannot be made more than 60 days out from the trip. The bus ticket can be purchased within 30 days.

Conference Hotel Location

I suggest anyone who can swing it stay at the conference hotel. It is not convenient to any MRT or BTS station.

Accommodation

I cannot afford the conference hotel for as long as I will be in Bangkok.

I made reservations for 13 nights including breakfast at a hostel called “The Mixx.” I use booking.com for hotels because I have discounts with them since I use then so much. Agoda is another site for SE Asia, but I have never had good luck booking there.

The total cost at The Mixx is $51 USD for the whole 13 days. Wow! The hostel is near the famed Khao San Road, a place I never got to in my years in Bangkok. I’m not much for tourist spots, but I will check this place out for sure.

The hostel is a 45 minute bus ride on one bus to and from the conference hotel. The bus will cost maybe 20 cents usd each way and be just fine for me. I do not plan to get into any boats, motorcycles, or cabs if I can help it.

mixx hostel to prince hotel bangkok.PNG

This is one minute of one of the three times I got on boats in Thailand. This ride was very expensive and the other two were very cheap. I want them all to stay safely in my memories :)

I can change my accommodation reservation up until 10/27. I made this reservation since the cost is low and they do not need a credit card or payment until I get there. I think I might break up the reservation to see if I can find something closer and still cheap while I am in Bangkok before the event.

Money

It’s always about the money!

I noticed a STEEMfest post today by @anouk.nox talking about putting 1 STEEM a day into savings here on STEEM. Good idea, and I will consider it. I have less than 5 months to go and plan to cover all costs with STEEM earnings. Just waiting to know about that conference fee…

My RoadToSTEEMfest posts:

Only one so far :)
Introduction to My RoadToSTEEMfest

= =

Minnow Tips!

My Newest Minnow Tips Updates:

General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?
How Can I Solve My Low RC Problem on STEEM?
Using @dustsweeper on STEEM
Enter contests on STEEM and win!
Do your replies fast with with SteemReply
You should be freewriting if you are a blogger

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!
ginabot
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, but he is on to other things, so I post there too now.

I post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

= =

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @fitinfun! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @fitinfun :) | For investors.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

I'm amazed by your spirit of adventure. Write about Steemfest, please. I'd love to hear about it.

Thank you very much! I will do at least a post each week in the lead up and hopefully a lot while there. I'm very excited since the other fests we had were much too far away :)

Mayb we'll meet u there

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope so. Start posting about your plans and ideas with the roadtosteemfest tag. People are looking there now :)

What a fun trip!

Hi. Have they published the prices for SF4 yet?

Posted using Partiko Android

No, the conference fee is supposed to be announced in July. I'm hoping for $50, lol.

LOL...time will tell :-) Can I ask, is it cheaper living there than Bangkok? What are the rents like in KL ?

It's very wide-ranging. I am out about 30 minutes on the LRT and pay about 100 usd per month for a room in a condo with a balcony and pool. I really like it here, but it's not perfect. I am only looking for a cheap place to work. I have food 24 hours outside the gate and the station is close, so I am happy! Not one tourist is in this area, so it is not for everyone.

I knew people in Bangkok paying similar out by Don Mueang, but that was too far for me.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @fitinfun ! You received upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1030 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

You will have a successful trip.

I would love to go on this trip! have a great time and i cant wait to read about your trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22