G is for Ginger - My Entry for A - Z Photography Contest Week 7

in #busy5 years ago

p1051d6wyw.jpg

I admit I am addicted to ginger. Luckily I am in SE Asianwhere it is cheap and plentiful. I love the spicy hot taste any way I can get it.

This box has ginger roots with the dirt still on them in my local Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Market. You cannot get less processed food than this.

5bxm3af48d.jpg

Here is a little piece of ginger I got there showing the dirt because I was so excited! It's the little things in life that matter most :)

9fzfyc27ln.jpg

And this is a bit of the haul I got at the same market another day. Barley, salted beans, tiny purple onions, and the ginger - about $2 usd.

w5fyn2mkxc.jpg

To the right in the first bin is cut ginger. It is ready with all the other ingredients to be juiced to order in Bangkok. Stalls like this are open from dawn to about 10 am and I sure miss this 60 cent energy boost.

Just point to what you want and juice appears!

j7xkxz6rwo.jpg

Here I am cutting some ginger to make tea
dw3wjhahca.jpg

Finer still. This is hard on my arthritic hands, but I do it anyway.
k3sd9g7pq8.jpg

Boiled water is poured on now

4yi60dwzu1.jpg

And a lid to keep the heat longer. I was making do in a Bangkok hotel room. You really should simmer this for 15-30 minutes for best result.

utdnuzapf3.jpg

Waiting...

ki92uqgg65.jpg

Did my ginger change color! No.

9vdh15bope.jpg

This dish includes turmeric root too. For some reason I do not find a photo of the tea with ginger only. I drain off the water and drink it. Then I eat the roots in salad or soup. They go down easier when they are softened up life this.

This photo shows a cooked food haul from street vendors in Bangkok. In the left, sliced ginger is part of my fermented pork ball meal. In the middle is some cooked purple rice and to the right are two sticks of BBQ chicken livers. I was on a roll that night and must have shopped hungry.
xjqhjvzrbh.jpg

I got this tea in a Bangkok 711. It's the pure powder in five tea bags for about $3. Pricey!

ginger 711 food market  IMG_2681.JPG

Here is another market haul. This time from Bangkok for about $1.50. Cabbage, limes, radish, ginger and cauliflower.

npzd3exjia.jpg

And another market haul from Bangkok. The bag holds shredded ginger. I thought this would be good idea for tea. but it was much more expensive than that gigantic root I got.

716o2a4uul.jpg

The big pack of turmeric roots above was 30 cents!

Pickled ginger was found in the K & T in Bangkok for $1.20 USD. You often find this as a garnish with your sushi. I can eat it like candy.

ginger IMG_6613.JPG

Yum!

sby85wb1yy.jpg

So why do I eat all this ginger? For the health benefits and flavor. In the poster of benefits below from an unknown source on google images, you see a photo of candied ginger which is also very good.

m06zpfh3n2.png

And organicfacts.com talks about the health benefits of honey and ginger together. When you hear to drink ginger ale for nausea, now you know why.

1nie8824df.png

This is my entry for the weekly a-z-photography-contest by @sustainablyyours. I am entering this photo below as it is the one I like the best out of all my choices above.

9fzfyc27ln.jpg

I like the blurred background and the good focus on the ginger. I seriously need to up my photography game!

= =

Minnow tips!

Here is my latest minnow tips post if you struggle here. These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood

@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We follow back, because we love you.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

Delegate SP to any of us

Upvote any of our older posts which are close to payout.

If you can "only" vote some posts - It is enough.
If you can "only" send 1 STEEM - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer advice for how I can do better - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer encouragement and good wishes - It is enough.

If you can do more and think my presence here has value, I hope and pray you will.

This is the power of STEEM.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

Statistics say that only 5% of people with health resolutions for the New Year will still be on track after Super Bowl Sunday. Is your fitness equipment still out handy, and are you still on a "diet?"

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. I started on December 5th and did not give up. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California,steemmonsters, and dtube videos.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

And be sure to fitinfun no matter what.

Sort:  

you can never have enough ginger :)

Haha! Totally agree. I hope you have some of can get it.

Hello @fitinfunfood, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71