Teaching can be dangerous sometimes.....

in #busy5 years ago

                      

Image source

Today in class we had a very interesting class conversation about pets. We also discussed the various types of pets that we can keep, and I came to the conclusion that my idea of a pet, is definitely not the same as these of my students.  We were somehow NOT on the same wavelength. For me, a pet is an animal that you can cuddle and play with.  A kitten or a puppy and even a bunny seems like the perfect pet, but no...not what my students had in mind.  

        

Image source 

            

Image source

Apparently I am old fashioned.  Modern pets don't bark or meow or hop. They crawl and hiss and jump. Exotic pets they called it.  

In a class of 27 students, we had four snakes, three spiders, two rats, two hedgehogs (Although one hedgehog died, which I think was a mistaken "hibernation" death) and believe it or not... one frog, two bearded dragons, two hamsters, and one parrot. The rest did not have pets.  

I was amazed.  Firstly because not even one child had a cat or a dog, or even a little bunny. What amazed me even more was the type of pets that the children kept.  

How exactly do you play with a snake or a rat or a spider?  It might be fun to have a frog or a hamster, and even a parrot, but ultimately what do you do with a frog, rat, bearded dragon or a hedgehog

                                  

Image source

I am extremely glad that it was not a show and tell! That would have caused a circus in class. I am not the biggest fan of snakes and can you imagine if those snakes got loose and ate the rats?

A few years ago, I had a show and tell  in Science class and one child asked his mom to bring HER snakes to school...why I agreed to that I don't know, but it literally caused chaos.  In the end I was the one standing outside the classroom while she showed the snakes to the class. Like I said, NOT the biggest fan of snakes! 

The snakes she brought to class looked similar to this snake....and yes, I don't care if it is poisonous or not, I don't like snakes.

                      

Image source

In the end, we all learned something, and I guess that you are never too old to learn something new! 

Do you keep any funny creatures in your home, or does your child own any type of exotic pet? 

 

 

Sort:  

I think the least bond is the best.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.277 which ranks you at #824 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 820).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 144 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 43.41% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @giantbear! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

As young marrieds we bought a pair of marmosets who failed to prosper. We learned, too late, that they do not like being handled at all. It was a heartbreaking exercise.
What it taught us was to go back to the traditional cat and two dogs as soon as we could afford a home and garden. They brought us huge happiness. I agree, I need to play with my pets and interact with them emotionally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75