How a teeny tiny snail changed my view on the world

in #busy6 years ago

Often when my husband comes home from work early enough we go and sit by the ocean. It's usually about three times a week, but on weekends we try to go down more. We have a perfect view of the ocean from home, but because I work from home, I like to drive down to the beach. This is our un-winding time. Shutdown time. We just sit and watch the ocean, and this week we have been very lucky to see hundreds of whales and dolphins in our area. The ocean has a very calming affect on me as I am a naturally anxious person. 

It is getting closer to summer here, so it is very weird to still see so many whales in the area. They usually move away in the middle of August to move to colder water but this year, they are taking their time. I would have loved to show you some photos, but my photographic skills are not the best, and usually when I have my camera ready the dolphins don't jump out of the water like we've seen them do hundreds of times this week. 

So yesterday my husband and I decided that it was a lovely day and we just had breakfast at a local restaurant, so it was a great time for us to go and take a walk on the beach. Even though we sit by the ocean we don't often take the time to just go for a walk to explore further. 

Isn't it sad that life passes us by, and we are just so busy with work that we forget to see what is around us. 


I discovered a few things on our walk.  I not only found out that I was extremely unfit, but our little walk made me realize something extraordinary. 

Have you ever thought about your place in this universe?


We were walking along..slowly...when we found a rock pool with plenty of little fish in it. I wanted to take some photos of the little fish in the pools but I have already told you about my photo skills. 

I zoomed in with my phone, and I noticed the tiniest little teeny weeny snail trying to make his way up the rock. I would not even have notice that tiny little snail, have I not zoomed in. 

That tiny little teeny weeny snail, made me realize just how small we are in this world. Each and every little thing has a place on this earth. 

It is time for us to calm down our lives and to start seeing what is around us. It is time for us to start smelling the roses and to notice the beautiful things that are all around us. 

People get so messed up because they get focused on silly things like money. In the end, you can't take it with you. Take a short little time out of your day and just go and take a walk outside, and look at the things around you. 

Nature is amazing. It has a healing effect and it might do you the world of good! 

 

  

  

  

  

Sort:  

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.243 which ranks you at #745 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 744).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #119.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your post from all the people's posts is so great that it's great to talk and talk a lot.

wise words indeed <3

I couldn't agree with you more. Life is so beautiful in its every single second, in its every single detail. What a shame that we forget to pay attention to simple things which could make us a bit happier.

Posted using Partiko Android

You inspire me @giantbear. And you fill me with jealousy. The sea has the same effect on me but my drive down to the beach takes about 7 hours... You are privileged!

I am very privileged, and I still feel bad that I couldn't meet you. When you come down this side again, then we should really make a plan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06