Life is shorter than we think...

in #busy6 years ago

Image source

Yesterday was a very hard day for me. Of course I was happy because  it was Friday, and it was my husband's weekend off, so we could actually spend some quality time together. Everything was going hunky dory, and I even booked us for dinner at a nearby restaurant so we could have a night out. 

At about nine o clock my husband phoned to say that he was about to leave his office, so that he could get some rest before our night out. I was still busy in class, and then I got a call that I will not forget for the rest of my life. It was my husband.  

I answered the phone thinking that he forgot to tell me something, because we had just spoken less than ten minutes ago, and then I heard a voice on the other side that was NOT my husband.  

It was a co-worker telling me that my husband collapsed at work, and they had just phoned the ambulance to take him to the nearest hospital. 

I was devastated. I went into panic mode and asked my mom to drive to the hospital with me, because I did not know what I was going to find. I was totally shaken up. 

I walked into the emergency room and he was all linked up to machines and monitors and I hated seeing him like this.   

After he was stabilized they gave him a few injections for pain and he went to sleep. He had to be transferred to a different hospital where they had space in the ICU, so I had time to kill. I took my mom for coffee and we had a quick bite to eat.  

While we were sitting there waiting for our food, it hit me like a hammer between my eyes.  

What if he had died? 

Was I a good enough wife to him? 

What will I do if he was no longer here to support me?

I am still devastated, but he is stable, although he is still in ICU, and I know that he will be okay, BUT I learned a very hard lesson.  

Life is too short to worry about unnecessary things. We spend so much time worrying about the most stupid things, that we often forget to worry about our loved ones. We get so used to someone just being there all the time, that we forget why we even got married in the first place. 

We fight about money and nitty gritty stuff, that is not really important. We are so used to having our family around us, but do we actually see them and communicate with them...or are they just there?

Do you spend quality time with your husband/wife?  Do you tell them you love them every time you see them. Do you make them feel important, or are they just there because you are used to it. 

Life is shorter than we think. Don't waste the time you have with your loved ones.  One day out of the blue, they just might not be there anymore and what are you going to do then? 

Are you going to regret the times when you did not give your full attention to them? 

Family is more important that any amount of money in the world. Don't waste precious time, because before you can blink it is all over.  

Life is short, and, once somebody is gone, they're gone. Roscoe Mitchell
 

  

  

  

 

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, what did they say it was? Is he going to be ok? xxx

Hi Deb, we still don't know what it is. They have so far ruled out a heart attack, but they are now testing for diabetes, and perhaps an obstruction somewhere and also possible ulcers. He is still in ICU and he is just very tired. He has been under a tremendous amount of stress these last few months and he is exhausted. Just not worth it!

My thoughts are with you and the family, take care!

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

This is why I made myself a promise I will not let money and work take over our lives - spending time with friends and family needs to happen. Even though we have to work and have money, I agree that we need to make time for the ones we care about - hope he is better very soon that you can go on your 'date'

I hope he is better now <3

I felt this way when Mum left a couple of years back
All the things you said, I am working on prioritising and what's important
I admit sometimes Life kinda niggles its way in, but now at least I catch myself with the man and the kids

Sending your and your husband lots of positive thoughts...

Thank you...really appreciate your comment, and I am so sorry for your loss...xx

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.253 which ranks you at #768 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 770).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87