Using a coca cola bottle to grow bean sprouts at home - Amazing life hack!

in #busy6 years ago

I've been growing bean, alfalfa, onion etc sprouts at home for over forty years and, while the method here is sound, it's much more sustainable to use glass jars with holes in the lid. You can use them over and over, they're easy to clean and much easier to get the sprouts out of. I also think that using glass means that you don't risk any contamination from plastic and you can sterilize them regularly. I can also put the jars straight in the fridge when the sprouts are ready if I don't want to use them straight away. The draining is simple too - you simply turn the jar on its lid once you've watered it to drain it. I'd also add that it's a good idea to turn the container regularly as that makes it less likely for any sprouts to die and rot. You still lay the jars on their sides as is done here. Good tutorial on growing them but I'll stick to my glass jars :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86