Blood Is Thicker Than Water; Missing My Home

in #busy6 years ago (edited)
Blood, they say is thicker than water but I never came to a full understanding of that statement until last week when I longed for home and to be with those I call my blood.

I was supposed to graduate last year from the university but due to some financial issues which made it impossible to graduate, thereby giving me an extra year to spend in school. I got so sad and frustrated within myself, I had to tell my mum and siblings that was not returning home until I graduate this year.

It was a tough decision staying away from home for a whole year after the four months I spent for my second semester but had to take it to avoid much pity from people who knew me to be final year in school.

Early last week, I had to tell my kid brother who bought a new phone to take pictures of my mother and kid sister and send to me on whatsapp because I really desired to see them but that request has not being granted till now and don't know why. Luckily enough I discovered that my kid sister who would be 20 years old in two months time had recently joined Facebook, I quickly added her on Facebook and downloaded her cute picture.


Few minutes later she accepted my request and we had a long chat. It was a wow experience for me seeing how big and beautiful she had become after about a year of not going home because my last visit was last year Easter. On my two whatsapp account, her picture is the one there on my dp and friends have being telling me I was so ugly in comparison to my sister. Hahaha, well am an elder brother and I reserved all the beauty for her.

But then, with this strong desire to see my mum and siblings, I still felt sorrowful for those who are left alone in this whole wide world of wickedness and evil. I feel more for orphans in the motherless babies home and on the street who don't have any one to call their own. They don't have any one they can run to for help.

Let's try to show them concern as well. Help the needy and the poor around you. Make them feel loved too because they have feelings just as you do. Visit the orphanages and show concern to their needs. Show them love and reason to be alive, active and to be useful in the nearest future.

Sort:  

Showing love to the needy and caring for them gives them since of belonging and I must tell to you who is doing so ,things will not be heard for you .

Brother you have a beautiful sister

Thank you for the complement of my sister's beauty

I totally understand missing family. I get to see my family only every 2-3 years. Thankfully most are on FB so I see their pics and get to interact with them virtually on there. And sometimes we chat on the phone. But there is no substitute for your mother's hug. Hope you get back to your family soon.

That's nice. My elder brother and younger brother are both on facebook and that is the reason i never bothered about their pictures.

So true @inspiredgideon1. Sometimes we take Family for granted. Thank you for putting it in perspective. And I agree we should try to help those who are not fortunate to have parents...especially young orphans

Yes sir very true. Recently I and some steemians visited an orphanage home and it was a sweet one and then we came up with an idea to help the poor in northern part of Nigeria and that brought about the birth of @steemminna account but currently still looking for funds to keep it running.

Congrats on your power up.

Thank you @inspiredgideon1 . @steemminna sounds like a wonderful Cause :)

You're sister is beautiful!!! Family is everything when they are far away and don't get to see them often!! Great post :)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.21$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

It's a shame you have been away from your family for so long and have not seen them, but it came good in the end when you got to have a chat with your sister.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Just the financial delay but it's all good now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87