Always try to give yourself more time than you need.

in #busy6 years ago

Time.

It can be a real pain in the butt.

Nobody ever has enough of it.

Of course, we've all got to go to work. We've all got chores to do and we've all got responsibilities.

Everything takes time.

Given that time is the thing we have the most limited supply of, we must carefully dole it out, and be resourceful with it.


Source: Pixabay.com

Unfortunately, with time being such a valuable resource, we don't let go of it very willingly.

If we have a lunch meeting, for example, we will usually think of that meeting in terms of how much time it's going to take.

One hour? Most of us can afford a one-hour meeting but not many of us can afford a two-hour meeting.

We don't always have control over how much time something takes though.

It's easy to assume that you will be stopping by the post office before work and that you can allocate 15 minutes for that chore. It's even easier to find yourself in a situation with 40 people in line at the post office while you look at your clock, just knowing that you're going to be late because you did not give yourself enough time.

Most of us don't like to spend a lot of time on unpleasant things.

I think that's why we assume that those unpleasant things aren't going to take very long.

However, by not allocating enough time for those things you really put yourself in a bad situation.

It is better to write something off as four hours and then be pleased that it only took 30 minutes than it is to write it for 30 minutes and then be horribly upset that you had to spend 4 hours doing it.

It might not be easy, but....

Always try to give yourself more time than you need.

Sort:  

I am learning this the hard way. In my personal life my business has been slow and money not coming in that much. I thought id have bounced back fully by now but it is taking a lot slower. Glad am not too desperate

I can definitely understand.

I use to be great at managing my time and giving myself enough time to get ready or get somewhere. Somehow now though, I frequently feel like I have extra time while I am getting ready and then at the last minute I rush because I'm running it too close. I don't like to rush. I need to re-adjust something. LOL !

I think that happens to a lot of people.

Well that is the best advice one could give.... But allocating more time than is necessary may sometimes lead you into a much worse situation ie., of idleness.... Going by your example, say if you allot four hours to the post office work and schedule other things after four hours and your work was done in just 30 minutes.... Then, in that case, you have three and a half hours to waste.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Yes one of my friend forget to give time to herself as well as her family career is important but we should take care of ourselves as well as our loved ones too we are so busy that we become rude just because we don't get a break for us

I agree with this 100%

I will never follow this. not even 5%. LOL My problem is I have time, and I like to play with it all the time. Then I panic, get everything done at the last second and think "gah. that was awful. I'll never do that again."

The next day - I realize that I, in fact, got to play as much as I wanted and still got all my shit done.

Reinforced procrastination. I am doomed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77