Not every movie has to be brilliant.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

Adam Sandler used to be considered a hilarious comedian.

He was killing on Saturday Night Live, he had his own movies coming out, and his stand up routine was both raunchy and downright funny.

grown.jpg
Imdb

Nowadays if you ask people how they feel about Adam Sandler, you are likely to get a response like this.

Well, I liked him in Waterboy.

Most people don't consider his movies to be great works of art.

It might have to do with the fact that he just kept churning out the same kind of movie over and over again.

People like original ideas.

Now, I really like several of Adam Sandler's movies. I even think that some of his ideas are new and unique.

Click?

50 First Dates?

Do I find him as hilarious as I did when he first came out a long time ago when he was on everyone's mind? No.

I still enjoy his movies though.


Giphy

The reason I bring all of this up is because I was about to watch a movie yesterday called Grown Ups.

I decided to check IMDb first. It's true that I don't necessarily trust reviews on their site 100% because sometimes they can be bought, and sometimes they are full of people that are really trying to push a certain idea on you.

This movie has a 6 on IMDb. However, the comments for it are really bad.

The very first comment on it gives it one star and talks about all the things that are wrong with it.

They claim that it's as funny as watching paint dry.

Well let tell you something though, when I've been working at my restaurant all day long and then come home to my empty house tired, listless, and full of stressed out emotions from being yelled at all day, it can really be good to stare at something that doesn't require a lot of thought.
.
Grown Ups stars a lot of comedians that I was brought up watching.

Adam Sandler Chris Rock, Kevin James, Rob Schneider, David Spade. I've seen each of these actors in various TV shows and I've seen most of their movies too.

I like these actors even if they aren't brilliant.


Giphy

You see, these actors are playing a certain type of role. They are putting comedy out there that doesn't require a lot of thought.

I can appreciate that kind of comedy once in a while.

I'm not saying it's always what I look for though.

I am definitely saying that it has a place in the movie world.

Grown Ups is not a bad movie at all. It doesn't make you laugh out loud.

It does make you feel good because you get to see all of the old comedians that you used to watch together in one place.

I think that rating sounds about right for this movie. Sometimes I just want to watch mindless comedy, and this movie definitely fits the bill.

Not every movie has to be brilliant.

Sort:  

There are movies that although their content is not the best the actors make it nice and one can be distracted, so I liked that movie and see so many comedians together.

That movie "Funny People" was pretty cool. Haven't seen "Grown ups" but I might thanks to your post. I don't expect much from Adam Sandler's movies but mostly I have a good time watching them.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Adam Sandler's movies are crap and he is a shitty actor and he always plays the same role. But yeah I do enjoy watching shitty movies or stupid sitcoms when I'm dead tired after work.

PS: I liked Anger Management


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 139 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88