Sharing a refrigerator is an unpleasant experience.

in #busy6 years ago

Living with three roommates can be trying. There are many different things on which we disagree.

Some problems don't come from disagreements though. They simply stem from one person's lack of respect for others around them.


Source: Pixabay.com

Not everyone is disrespectful. Those that are tend not to understand what's really going on.

Three of us in a house sharing a refrigerator. We all chose a shelf. One of us has the top shelf, one of us has the middle shelf, and one of us has the bottom shelf.

The new roommate is a big Craft Beer Drinker so he chose the bottom shelf. He has several tall beers and the bottom shelf has a lot of room for standing bottles.

I chose the middle shelf because it has a fair amount of room and I don't have to bend over very far.

The third roommate chose the top shelf. He's able to stack things on there and push them very far to the back.

Unfortunately for me and my craft beer drinking friend, the roommate with the top shelf has a real tendency to put items that drip on top of items that don't want to be dripped on.

I had a whole pizza uncovered on a pizza tray in the middle shelf of the refrigerator. My third roommate put some kind of Indian food on top of the shelf that dripped all down on top of the pizza.

He keeps a lot of things like pickled carrots and strange little eggs in a jar. It's all pretty disgusting and it drips on everything. So my craft beer friend will have sticky syrup all over the side of the beer that he picks up to drink. I will have crap all over my food..... and everyone is unhappy.

You can't talk to this roommate though because he's very aggressive and he always thinks that he's right no matter what. We've been in plenty of arguments that did not go well.

I've come to the conclusion that it's best to just avoid him even though we share a lot of common interest like the music that we listen to.

How can I avoid someone that is dripping their disgusting food on food that I'm going to eat though?

Talk about frustrating.

Sharing a refrigerator is an unpleasant experience.

Sort:  

You and craft beer drinker move up and put drippy boy on the bottom. Turn the frig down a small notch to keep craft beer drinker's brew cold. Everybody is happy.

Well we aren't really on good terms with that guy so I don't think there's any way to have a conversation with him right now. He's kind of arrogant and not somebody I really want to talk to.

Don't ask. LOL Do it while he's gone and leave a note. I know it's a pain, but if he isn't going to be considerate of anyone else, then he doesn't deserve any consideration back. It's two vs one here..... gang up on him since he's being a bully. Ok.. .I know these things are easier said than done, but the alternative is to live with it.

Almost reminds me of the old ads for Reese's. You got peanut butter on my chocolate, you got chocolate in my peanut butter...you might find a new winning combo!

Well it reminds me of the movie Aliens when she puts her hand against the wall and pulls off this disgusting viscous liquid.

I think maybe getting a mini fridge for your room might be a solution. Sometimes people here list them pretty cheap on craigslist when school semesters are ending and people move out of the dorms. It stinks having to share a fridge when a roommate keeps gross foods that drip. Maybe he needs to move down to the bottom shelf instead of being on the top.

Yeah that would be nice. However, my room is pretty crammed with stuff. Have a giant bed in here, computer, a big couch and there's hardly any room to move around at all.

lol strange little eggs in a jar.

Yes it was definitely pretty disgusting.

I assume you guys have grating instead of solid shelf's. Maybe put cardboard under his shelf, put some holes in the cardboard and zip tie it up. Or use some plastic sheeting in the same fashion.

@grizzman I wasn't sure if you were still kicking.

Yeah that's a good idea.

I understand you @jeezzle, I have been through similar situation in my life too.

I think living with people from different background and upbringing, you may experience such situations. I must say that some people don't have good upbringing.

You could be right about that.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yeah mate! I remember I lived with my best friend for just two months and we ended up almost hating each other. As soon as we moved away again things turned to normal. There's just some people in our live we cannot live under the same roof with.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah i also do this when there are so hot.

sounds like a small fridge for your room :) just a nice personal one for you!

or..... time for mysterious splashes to end up on his food?

Three guys that work all day and then come home and drink some beers getting aggressive with each other is a recipe for disaster. It's better to try to talk things over. However, when your roommate will not talk in a reasonable fashion, the best thing to do is to just try to ignore it.

or.... mysterious splashes ending up on his food.

i vote for my solution ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85