Student Bodies - The original horror parody.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

I love horror movies.

I especially love older B movies in the horror genre. There's just so much to choose from. There is so much gratuitous everything. It's kind of amazing and hilarious while also occasionally being scary.

dddd.jpg
Imdb

I remember growing up watching the horror movies that were coming out with my generation. Some of them were pretty good. Movies like Scream and Final Destination.

Others not so much..

When Scary Movie came out we all thought it was hilarious.

Scary Movie 2 was also pretty good.

It was able to create a believable parody that was hilarious and also had characters that I could get behind.

In short, it was awesome. Of course, after that a lot of different parodies were made. Too many parodies. Now it's at the point when you see a parody you know it's going to be terrible.

Scary movie wasn't the original horror movie parody though.


Giphy

That movie was called Student Bodies.

Student Bodies came out of 1981 and was able to parody some of the of the earlier 70s horror movies with great style.

There is a scene at the very beginning in which a house is shown.

The first subtitles say Halloween. After which they say Friday the 13th. After which they say Jamie Curtis's house.

That line may very well be the very first horror movie parody line.

The difference between Student Bodies and a movie like Scary Movie is that the movie itself is actually a horror movie. It has a villain and a plot, and in its own way it really is a standard 70's style horror movie.

It doesn't have any nudity or even any cursing except for one word which was apparently thrown in just so that they can get an R rating.

gag.jpg
Imdb

Nevertheless, it does have some good action and some pretty good gags.

It's not as good as some of the 70s horror flicks that is trying to parody though.

It's also not as good as some earlier comedies either. Therefore, one can come to the conclusion that it is neither as good as a horror or comedy movie from which it is trying to form itself.

I I liked it though. It's cool to watch some of these older movies.

I don't recognize any of the actors.

I would say though that if you're looking for a horror movie from the 70s and 80s this one is not a bad pick if you also understand that it's actually trying to be a parody.

It's really not very scary and it doesn't have any of the exploitation or any of the over the top horror action that you might find some of the 70s flicks.

I'm not sure how I feel about that.

All in all, Student Bodies is a pretty horror movie.

Sort:  

Redneck Zombies... what a movie.. Best watched when your off your head on something!

That looks amazing. I've added to my list of must watch movies.

Does the 1974 Hit Young Frankenstein count as a horror parody?

I'll have to check out student bodies. Thanks for the suggestion. :)

I think it probably does. Student Bodies is more of a parody though. Of the entire genre I mean. I'm not saying it's fantastic movie though..... it's kind of average actually.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20