The Terror - A truly fascinating look at the horrors of maritime adventuring.

in #busy5 years ago

The first thing that I should mention is that The Terror is actually an anthology series. What I'm reviewing here is the first season which is about a naval adventure in which two ships, the Erebus and The Terror, attempt to navigate a path through Antarctica.

terror.jpg
Hulu

Just lately I've been feeling like there is nothing to watch on any of my streaming platforms. I looked and looked and came up with nothing. Then one day I was browsing through Hulu and I found this show called The Terror.

It's apparently based on a novel by Dan Simmons. I am familiar with his work, and for the most part, I really like the books that he produces.

A few reviews on IMDB made me feel as though this show would be something similar to a Stephen King based miniseries.

What I ended up with was a show that in its own right feels very similar to a mixture of Game of Thrones and Band of Brothers…. if they were both about some unknown terrifying horror that lied just outside the horizon.

Absolutely fascinating.

One of the coolest things about this show is that you will recognize a large majority of the characters. You won't know where you recognize them from. Some of them come from Game of Thrones. Some of them come from a movie you might have seen. Some of them come from unknown areas. I always love it when I see a lot of characters I recognize and I'm not exactly sure from where I recognize them.

I will say the acting is phenomenal.

As I stated at the beginning, this show is about two ships, the Erebus and the Terror. In 1846 those ships attempted to navigate a passage through Antarctica. However, both ships disappeared without a trace.

What happened to those ships? What happened to the hundreds of crew members aboard those ships?

You should know that this is actually a true story.

in 1846 these two ships launched out to try to discover the NW passage through Antarctica… and they failed. We know that they failed at the beginning, so I'm not really spoiling anything here.

What we don't know is how they failed or why they disappeared.

This is an incredibly harrowing tale. In fact, it is truly terrifying in the way that is told. It is incredibly atmospheric. I would say that The Terror is absolutely one of the best things that has ever been on Hulu. It's fascinating that most people don't even know about it.

Dan Simmons has taken a true story and added elements to it in order to fill in the gaps about what really happens to that expedition.

It's a really cool thing he's done. By watching this show you will feel as if you are there.

That's a cool feeling.

What happened to the Erebus and the Terror? Well we know that they were not capable of completing their journey.

You can find out one man's ideas about what horrifying fate befell the crew in the AMC miniseries on Hulu called The Terror.

You won't be disappointed.

Sort:  

Great review, @jeezzle. Good to see you here. I hope that signifies improvements in your life!

I have Hulu on my Roku but don't have a Hulu account. Maybe next time they do a free month or something, I'll check this one out. Sounds worth watching!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84