Beautiful Sunday: papayas in my garden and walk about, เดินดูมะละกอในสวน

in #busy5 years ago

This is my entry for #beautifulsunday organised by @ace108. I was quite surprised to see those papaya trees with lots of fruits. These were planted with the seeds I collected from our original batch of papaya two years ago.

72078275-900D-4256-B64B-599E277DFF76.jpeg

Last year three weeks’ flood of 1.5 to 2 meters high meant that all our forty papaya plants were all dead. So, we did not have home grown papaya for almost a year now. These green young fruits have cheered me up and I have something to look forward to in a few weeks!

C5E1A186-2EE3-4A81-9B7F-96495A15E926.jpeg

Walking around the garden, I was so glad to see those saplings we planted two months ago growing over one meter. These are mostly mahogany and local Thai medicinal trees. I think that in the long term I may have to learn to make organic pesticides from the leaves of these Siamese neem trees. At the moment I am using a herbal soap made from neem leaves and cumin which has proved very effective for dealing with mosquito bites and allergic rashes on my skin. This is going to be my long term project of self-sufficiency. I will be looking for volunteers to help out in the future! Interested?! Anyone?! You’ll have to camp out in my garden among the banana trees and use charcoal stove to boil water for your drip coffee!

D57619CF-2894-41DC-9E54-A8DB75A9EE3F.jpeg

We did manage to plant ten more small Acacia mangium (Krathin Thepha in Thai) and two mango trees. The frequent rain has made the soil very soft and easy to dig so we finished the job very fast. I had just enough time to catch the sunset and go for a walk along the river.

E17E2887-16D4-4623-97EF-BA716E5BCCE7.jpeg

We kept throwing mango seeds into the bamboo grove and now we have six small mango trees which will bear delicious fruits in a few years. The old man who came to collect some bamboo shoots wanted to dig up some of these mango trees to be planted in his garden. I told him the trees were too big to be dug out and they would die any way. So, I promised to buy him two nice saplings next week. The mangos from my garden have become quite famous for their sweet fragrance and delicious succulent texture. That’s why he wanted to dig them up!

EC2F21E7-6A4E-4015-AE6C-953E05D367AD.jpeg

อาทิตย์นี้ฝนเริ่มลดลงมาก ทำให้เราได้ไปเดินเล่นในสวน และปลูกต้นไม้ต่ออีกสิบสองต้น เราดีใจมากที่เห็นต้นมะละกอออกลูกดกหลายต้น ตั้งแต่นํ้าท่วมสวนปีที่แล้วนานเกือบเดือน นํ้าสูงเกือบสองเมตร ทำให้ต้นมะละกอ ตะไคร้ และต้นผลไม้ที่ปลูกใหม่สามสิบกว่าต้นตายเรียบ ปีนี้ก็เลยค่อยๆปลูกไปเรื่อยๆ รอดูว่าจะมีเขื่อนแตกในจีนหรือลาวอีกหรือไม่ เราก็พากันปลูกกระถินเทพาสิบต้น และมะม่วงเพาะเมล็ดอีกสองต้นเพื่อเป็นร่มเงาในอนาคต และจากประสบการณ์ ต้นไม้เพาะเมล็ดรอดจากนํ้าท่วมได้นานมาก เรามีเวลาไปเดินเล่นริมโขง และออกกำลังกายด้วยการเดินเร็วๆ บรรยากาศก็สงบเงียบ เด็กวัยรุ่นออดมาเล่นกีตาร์ริมแม่น้ำ มีคนออกมาปั่นจักรยานบ้าง อากาศโปร่งทำให้วิวพระอาทิตย์ตกดินสวยงามมาก

F31EE4DD-2B21-4CB3-B590-62D7B22B0A8B.jpeg

961219C1-9A27-4A4E-AFF0-BBB10A4878FE.jpeg

FCAB5E6B-42BD-4870-A7C6-1EC95BB5E766.jpeg

D1FF6F44-3BB3-4147-AFA1-DD907A9FCD1B.jpeg

Wishing you a very prosperous and cheerful week!

Cheers.

Sort:  

Glad you have a harvest this year. How much juice will you make?

Thank you very much. We are lucky with the weather so far!
Oh! We don’t make juice! We eat raw papaya as salad and ripe papaya after meals!

If there’s left over, I would love to make some jam.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @kaminchan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 comments. Your next target is to reach 25000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you for the update!

Posted using Partiko iOS



This article has been selected and voted by @omnesplantae Content Curator, visit the discord server for a 360 ° travel experience! https://discord.gg/zd7vFSz

Thank you fir your support and generosity!

Have a nice day.!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations. I think you got so many nice papayas this time round.

Yo! Thank you! They are making up for lost time!
Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

you're welcome.

The papaya trees are really bearing a lot of fruit!!

Still we love to have more papaya! We could have papaya everyday!

Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

WOW! A lot of papaya fruits! They are so big. Ah! I would love to camp out in your garden among the banana trees. That'll be a very excellent moment! The sunset over the river is always my favorite. Really magnificent! Great capture! ;)

Thank you for cheering on my papaya plants! We ought to plant some more! Isaan people eat papaya salad almost everyday! Raw papaya is also good in sour soup!

Hope you’ll drop by in the winter.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're welcome! I love papaya salad, too. Southern people also cook raw papaya in Kaeng Som. (yellow curry) Yummy!

Thanks so much for your invitation. I do hope to visit you someday! ;)

Oh! Good! You will drop by one day!

Yap! I like yellow curry with raw papaya a lot too!

Oh! I'm glad to know that you like yellow curry with raw papaya a lot, too! Um! I could imagine how fun we would probably have when eating delicious foods by the river together! ;)

It's so wonderful what you are creating!

Oh! Thank you very much for your encouragement!
I hope you’ll visit Thailand one day

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @kaminchan!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

But I had some problem with the app last time I downloaded it!
So, I switched back to earlier version!
My iPhone is quite old, iPhone 6!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice to have your own fresh fruit and veggies in your garden !!

Yap! We are lucky this year, I pray!
No more broken dams in China or Laos to create sudden flood!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let's hope not have a great week !!

Thank you very much!
Have a nice day?

Welcome and you have a great week !!

Thank you, will try my best!

Always nice to be picking your own fruit of the trees it doesn't get any better then that :)

Thank you very much! It would be nice if we could grow apple and apricot and plum trees in Thailand one day!

Have a nice week!

Now your talking i love all those fruits why is it that they can't grow them here to hot or not the right soil ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16