Great Blue Heron Fly-by

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

There I was, minding my own business when this happened:

DSC_5585.jpg

Wait for me!

I was taking some photos beside the Pacific shore when I saw a Great Blue Heron pair resting on the rocks. I walked slowly towards them hoping to get some nice shots. Just then someone's dog came charging into the scene and the birds took off...

HeronPair.gif

This gif was made from nine sequential frames. Nikon D750, 1/640 second, f/6.3, ISO 1000, 116mm. The camera settings mean nothing, that's just how it was set at that moment. I wish I had zoomed in closer but I had no time to react.... these shots have been cropped too much, but I wanted you to actually see the birds.

Wouldn't it be nice to know in advance when something like this is about to occur? I certainly would have changed some things. Faster shutter speed, a different lens so I could get really close without cropping... Still, I thought it was pretty cool, and although the image quality of the individual frames is not great, altogether they make a nice gif. I hope you like it :)

Update:

Maybe this works better if you see more of the ocean and the mountains in the background. Here's another take on this:

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks very much, that is greatly appreciated!

They make a great gif @keithboone. Even if they don't meet the standards you like that was some quick thinking on your part and a great result, in my opinion. 😁

Thank you, Gillian. I took these shots in 2015, and every now and then I stumble over them again I wonder if there isn't something I can do with them. They're not great shots, but the overall scene is very cool... perhaps the best presentation is to show them with no crop. I just made a new gif and updated the post. The new file shows more of the environment and doesn't try to get close to the birds. If you have a moment, let me know what you think :)

I prefer the close up one @keithboone because the birds are much more unusual, to me at least, than the environment.

Maybe you could put one with the landscape at the front and end of it? 😁

Thank you @gillianpearce. These little gifs I make only exist on my notebook, and here on Steemit. It's funny, I still don't know what they're for really. Maybe I'll learn to shoot video soon... that's a whole new world (for me)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98