A Dose of Optimism

in #busy5 years ago

@ned dropped a bomb yesterday. I think it’s pretty well-known thus far across the Steem blockchain. Everyone is talking about it.

I have to admit, this caught me completely off guard. I had no expectation to see this yesterday and I kind of didn’t believe it at first. Maybe I just didn’t want to believe it.

At first, it seemed like this could be a huge blow to Steem. It seemed like this could really drag down not only the STEEM price in the short term, but also the long-term potential of the Steem blockchain.

That’s why I purposefully took my foot off the gas. I didn’t write a post about it right when I read the news. I wanted to take the opportunity to get a good night’s sleep and wake up in the morning, read some other peoples’ opinions and more fully come to terms with my own opinion.

This brings us all back to today. If you think that the Steem blockchain is dead, then you’re dead wrong. The blockchain is strong. The blockchain is stronger today than it was 1 year ago, regardless of the price and regardless of what happens at Steemit, Inc.

A lot of people still misconstrue the idea of Steemit, Inc. They don’t fully grasp the difference between the Steem blockchain and Steemit, Inc.

Steemit, Inc. is the company behind the Steemit blogging DApp (Steemit.com) which is built on top of the Steem blockchain. The Steemit, Inc. team also works hard to contribute developments to the blockchain itself (The Steem Blockchain).

If Steemit, Inc. were to disappear, I’m sure it would cause mass confusion at first, but the people who really know what’s going on understand that the Steem blockchain is a decentralized entity. Steemit, Inc. and the Steem blockchain - although closely tied together - are not the same thing.

The DApps would continue to develop. The individual developers would continue to code. The community would continue to post. The witnesses would still keep their servers. The sun would rise the following day.

Not the End of the World

A cutting back of the Steemit, Inc. team is not the worst thing in the world. In fact, it’s what many other crypto projects and orgs are doing at this very moment and have been doing over the past few months.

When organizations go through rough patches, they need to do what they need to do in order to survive and come out the other side.

An Opportunity for a Stronger Future

I’m sure you’re familiar with the saying that you must take a few steps backwards in order to take several steps forwards…

Well, that’s what I believe is going to happen in these times. In this “crypto winter” as people like to call it, every project is going to have to bundle up and band closely together in order to survive.

Not everyone is going to make it. People may be laid off, people may have to go elsewhere for warmth — that’s just the nature of survival.

Something that I’ve often talked about on my blog is the idea of growth through hardship.

This idea of growing by facing ever-greater challenges is present all throughout life. I am reminded of it on a daily basis. The recent news from the Steemit, Inc. team is yet another in a long list of challenges that we will overcome and persevere through and come out the other side an even stronger community.

Every challenge and every hardship is simply an opportunity to grow and adapt and evolve.

I believe - and I know others do as well - that this hurtle is yet another opportunity to make the Steem blockchain a better and stronger and more prosperous ecosystem.


Didn’t Get Enough Optimism? Here are a few great posts that I've read today:

  1. https://busy.org/@therealwolf/we-are-steem
  2. https://busy.org/@timcliff/witness-survey-v1-timcliff-s-responses
  3. https://busy.org/@steemmonsters/million-match-milestone
  4. https://busy.org/@jrcornel/is-bitcoin-dead
  5. https://busy.org/@dana-edwards/it-is-time-to-make-steem-an-economically-self-sustainable-business
  6. https://busy.org/@exyle/2ve77po8

“Each morning we are born again. What we do today is what matters most.” --Buddha
Sort:  

You are 100% right, the sooner that the witnesses have MORE controls instead of everyone believing that steemit inc. runs the blockchain...the better

I am a silver lining type of guy but not a rose-coloured glasses type.

With an extended dip, something had to give. If these cuts were well done, steemit won’t bleed to death and a boost in value again can lead to hiring of smt developers. If it does, I feel sorry for the new folks who have not discovered dapps and steemit alternatives. I also feel sorry for the block chain because it is the new people who are the future.

I have very little doubt steemit will survive and have to believe we will be better for it. Plus I love my dapps!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha I’m a DApp lover myself. I still use Steemit pretty regularly for a few operations, but it’s mostly because I’m a creature of habit and some things are just visually more appealing to me on Steemit.

But I still look to the DApps very often - responding to comments with Partiko, for example. I also use Actifit to track my activity. I use DTube to follow some great Steemians creators. I use Busy to read blog posts. I view hunts on Steemhunt and look for news pieces on DLike..

This is the future of using the Steem blockchain... not one interface, but many different ones with very niche use cases!

I believe Steemit could survive if they learn to adapt to new situations. The blockchain is much different now than 1 year ago and they desperately need a new business model

Posted using Partiko iOS

May be tough to swallow, but I think you’re right about the future in store. It’s not always easy to view these sorts of things as opportunities when they seem like obstacles, but that’s exactly how we all should be viewing this bomba

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely. Every challenge presents an opportunity for growth.

There is a lot of talk now about how Steemit, Inc. can adopt a new business model that is economically viable for the future so that they aren’t reliant on the STEEM price. It’s an interesting conversation and it’s one that should lead to some bettering of the Steem blockchain!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn’t know that. Pretty interesting topic of discussion and definitely something that would benefit the Steem blockchain, especially in the long term

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, it’s interesting stuff. I’ve been diving into a few ideas. I was initially against the ad placement model for Steemit.com, but @yabapmatt made a great post about it that changed my mind on it.

There’s a huge upside for ads on Steemit.com, especially if they are done right and intended to help the community by distributing the “ad rewards”, allowing bloggers to curate ads, etc.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @khaleelkazi!

You just got a 22.7% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85