Preliminary Guide to Moonsteem Dividends + 2x 50SP Delegation Winners Announced

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

If you haven’t heard yet, Steem has a new gambling dApp on the block - Moonsteem.

Moonsteem is a social gambling dApp and you can see many prominent Steemians spending some time playing the game and chatting in the live chat box about all sorts of topics.

One thing that I have grown to really enjoy about Moonsteem is the social aspect. Not only can you chat in real-time with other Steemians, but you can also see everyone who’s betting and if they’re winning/losing.

You can even try to mirror the strategies of other Steemians and cash out when they cash out.

Last week I ran a little contest for anyone who signed up to Moonsteem with my referral link. The two winners are:

  1. @doodleman
  2. @gingerninja

Congrats on winning! You’ve each received a 50 SP delegation. It expires 30 days from today (Thursday April 11th, 2019). If you have any other questions, let me know in the comments. Thanks for your support!!

Here is my preliminary overview/research for the dividend section that will go up on my website soon for the complete guide to Moonsteem:


Originally Posted on My Blog. Click Here to Read This Post on My Website!

Foo


Moonsteem Dividends

I’m very excited about Moonsteem dividends. The game has a very different dividend structure compared to other gambling dApps on this blockchain.

There is, of course, a pretty significant learning curve to the backend of Moonsteem. While the game itself is simple — place a bet and try to cash out before the price crashes — the structure of dividend payouts is more complex.

To understand the way dividends are paid out, you should first head over to the P&L tab on your Moonsteem account.

P&L Share

At the end of each game, a P&L is calculated. P&L stands for profit & loss and the number at the end of each game represents the amount of steemies cashed out by players minus the amount of steemies bet by players.

For example, if 2 players each bet 1,000 steemies and one of them cashes out for 1.75x profit and the other loses, then the P&L of the “house” is 250 steemies.

At the end of each game owners of P&L shares are each paid out accordingly. The higher your share %, the greater your share of the P&L.

On the P&L tab of your Moonsteem account, you can see the last 100 distributions in the second chart. Each of these distributions represent 1 game being paid out.

Sometimes the house wins and sometimes it loses. If it wins, then you’ll see a positive steemies distribution coming your way. If the house loses, then you’ll see a negative steemies distribution reflected in your P&L balance.

Screen Shot 2019-03-10 at 10.18.14 PM.png

(P&L Page on Moonsteem)

Players can own a share of this “house” P&L in 6 different ways:

Invest:

You can invest your Steemies in the “invest” tab on Moonsteem. Investing your Steemies allows you to earn passively by having a steady share of the house P&L.

There is a 0.5% dilution fee for investing. If you invest 100 STEEM (100M Steemies), then the fee will be .5 STEEM (500,000 Steemies).

This is the message displayed before you invest Steemies:

"At the time of your investment, there's a 0.5% dilution fee (distributed to previous investors). This dilution fee will increase over time. The longer you keep your investment in the Bankroll, the bigger your share.”

Investing has proven moderately successful for me. I claimed over 10 STEEM so far with 250 STEEM under the invest option. My P&L % skews heavily toward “invest” and so far I think it’s the best way to earn passive income via steemies in the long run.

The amount that you will earn is based on the P&L share of the house. Sometimes your balance is positive and sometimes it isn’t.

If you’re looking to invest Steemies and earn a passive income, then I believe right now is the best time to do that. While you may not earn a significant ROI in the short-term, I believe that it will rise greatly over time.

This is due to a rising dilution fee paid by all subsequent investors as well as the long-term house edge (house always wins in the end).

If Moonsteem gains in popularity, then you could be sitting on a nice stream of passive income in the future!

I’m currently investing 253.723 STEEM (253,723,209.24 Steemies) and my P&L share is .8175%.

Sponsor:

Sponsor is a fun one. I ran a delegation contest when the game first came out for anyone who used my ref link.

When you sign in to Moonsteem, you can find your referral link in the “Affiliates” tab. Sending someone that link will allow you to earn a certain P&L share based on how much your affiliates are betting with.

This is a great way to earn another passive P&L share on Moonsteem! It also helps spread the game and can increase the number of active users and revenue.

I have quite a few affiliates who are betting with big numbers. My current sponsor P&L share = .3638% (thanks for using my link!!) 😉 😉

Bet:

Betting is simple. You earn a P&L share based on how much you bet relative to other players!

The more you bet, the higher your share.

I bet intermittently. Far less than many of the active players. My current bet P&L share = .0604%.

Delegation:

You can delegate to @moonsteem and earn a P&L share for that route as well.

I’m currently delegating 100 STEEM to @moonsteem and my P&L share for that delegation is currently: .0612%.

Conclusion

My conclusion on dividends for Moonsteem has yet to be determined. I really enjoy the P&L share system as it is fresh in comparison to anything else I’ve seen as far as dapps go.

It really gamifies the financial side of the game which I think adds a refreshing layer of complexity. Can you make a lot of money from it? I don’t know yet.

Having invested 250 STEEM, delegating 100SP and betting a modest amount, I have earned about 10 STEEM in dividends so far (some of it from the dilution fees). A 4% return in about 1 week is not bad at all. These returns don't factor in gains from playing.

Playing has made me .5 STEEM while dividends have made 20x that much. Gambling is gambling, but taking a share in the house cut feels amazing.

I think that the long-term payoff of being an early adopter/investor of this dividend system could prove to be very valuable as the game matures, more players join, more investors join, dilution fees go up, etc. etc.

The game is also a lot of fun, so that is a big plus, of course! The chat box is one of my favorite parts of it. Could this be the new Steem watercooler?


Signup for a Steem Account on Khaleelkazi.com, earn a 90 day delegation!

p.s. you can now sign up for a Steem account directly on my website, https://khaleelkazi.com. The signature at the end of each of my posts will have an option for instant account creation, powered by @steem.ninja.

Steem.ninja gives a 90 day delegation of 15 SP with your account. I'm going to match their 90 day delegation to you for a limited time (I haven't decided how long yet, I'll announce it on my blog when this promotion ends).

you can now signup for a steem account on khaleelkazi.com!.gif

Sort:  

Woohoo thank you for the 50 SP delegation, Im glad I used your referral link :)

Congrats again!! I’m glad too, you’re racking up some great wins, keep it up 😉

What’s your favorite part of @moonsteem? Would love a moonsteem veteran opinion!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The P&L system is my favorite part of the game, its something unique that can be well worth it when the house starts to stack up those profits :)

Me too! I love the way that the dividends are unique and interactive. I hope it stays that way and actually improves in v2!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This game has been a lot of fun and I agree, I love the chat feature also.

Yeah chat is definitely one of the main things that keeps me coming back to it. They’ve mentioned a few upcoming features like Make It Rain in the chat and stuff. I hope we see more stuff like that soon!

P.s — have you tried the blackjack game on Steem? I just started messing around on there but haven’t seen much news about it around Steem. Figured you might know a few things about it, thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Moonsteem is easily the most addicting of them all. It's like you constantly have a shot at 2x!

I totally agree!! The game is amazing and it always feels like you’re on the cusp of a big win! Can’t wait for v2 to drop!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea these gambling games are a nice way to earn money for DrugWars! hahaa

L & P goes bankrut from minute to minute. Is good investion?🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you mean your personal p&l? If you’re going bankrupt from playing, then you may want to check out the other options.

Something I didn’t mention in this guide is the “faucet” option. You can earn free steemies for upvoting any @moonsteem posts.

You could get some free steemies and then use these p&l options to keep stacking up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No my play only. I mean invest. I see players are on the minus.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah you can get a negative p&l even while you’re invested. You share house profit and loss and so sometimes you lose and sometimes you win!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @khaleelkazi! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

New badge 💪🏽 that’s sweet. Kinda makes it hard to keep our @drugwars empire a secret. Maybe newbies will fear the badge one day 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @khaleelkazi!

You just got a 8.72% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17