Journal - Life Update

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

First I want to say over the past week I've gotten a few different people I know in real life to join steem. So welcome to these people:

@closetCanada - my brother and first real life steem believer. I got him to join over a month ago.

@cvatch - long time friend known since he was born, he's still looking around

@cgallach - brother's best friend, cool guy he visited me in Montreal from Atlanta, Georgia, USA

@thedillestpickle - grew up together, traveled Australia together

@biostace - my sister, she likes gardening and cats


Went to my old apartment to pick up some stuff.

I was just renting a room before my roommate and I got into a fist fight. No one is staying there now, so I may decide the rent the whole place to myself.

It's a 3 bedroom in an area I like and can bike to work from. I would use one room as my bedroom, second an office, and the third... I'm not sure about that one yet.

MVIMG_20180509_222235.jpg

Me busing with my huge luggage.


Work is good. I have found that any problems I had at work were all in my head. I cause myself stress by having lofty goals and feeling so bad if a deadline is missed.

I realize from our tech lead, sometimes it is ok to relax at work. When you work at a company which has multi-year goals and timelines, you need endurance.

It is easy to be super energetic and enthusiastic for the first 6-12 months. I don't regret that, but now I try to find a better balance. Also the general mood of our new office is nicer. We feel less crowded and the positivity is increasing.

I will look for ways to contribute beyond just coding. Team work and supporting your peers and communication can be just as important as the craft itself.

IMG_20180509_160856.jpg

Sort:  

Team work and supporting your peers and communication can be just as important as the craft itself.

I have this mental flaw that I think when I am not coding I am not working. For example, when I left a meeting with my co-workers I caught myself saying ok, back to work. But communication with team members is work. There is no other way to build good products.

We both know what I’d be doing in that 3rd room 👌🌱🇨🇦!

Good post brother... 👍👍👍👍👍👍

They can get everythin’ they want!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98