Caramel condensed milk brownie

in #busy5 years ago

Hubby likes to use condensed milk for his coffee as basically its milk and sugar two in one. The other week we bought a can of caramel flavour, but it tasted a bit weird for coffee. So I said I'd use it to make some brownies.
DSC_2523.JPG


To be honest, I have no idea how to make brownies, I only know the are gooey and are normally chocolate flavour and have nuts in them. I didn't have any chocolate at home and remember I had a packet of sugar cane coated peanut which I bought from my holiday at Okinawa in Japan --- two years ago 😊 They've been sitting in my cupboard all along. I opened them up and tried a bit. They've gone a bit soft and the peanut was starting to taste a little oily. Being the scrimpy me, and the fact the brownie was an experiment anyway, I'd figure I'd still go ahead and use them.
DSC_2524.JPG

So I went online to search for a recipe. I found one that looked simple and had the most ingredients that matched what I had at home and adapted it as follows

IngredientOriginal RecipeMy Creation
Flour256g128g
Butter226g113g
Condensed milk2 cansnot quite 1 can
Sugar125g50g
Baking powder1.5 teaspoons0.75 teaspoon
Salt0.5 teaspoon0.25 teaspoon
Nutnil50g
Vanilla2 teaspoonsnil
Cocoa powder65gnil

Now I had the recipe, it was time to get to work.

  1. It was a simple recipe, and basically you mix everything in a saucepan. I used an old saucepan in case I burnt the ingredients. First of all the condensed milk goes into the saucepan.
    DSC_2507.JPG

  2. Add in the butter and stir over low heat
    DSC_2508.JPG

  3. Next add in the sugar and stir till its melted. The original recipe calls for brown sugar, I didn't have any so used some rock sugar that's been in my cupboard for a while.
    DSC_2511.JPG

  4. Once the mixture has cooled, you're supposed to stir in the flour. I added the nuts in first. Don't think this sequence matter, to be honest.
    DSC_2515.JPG

DSC_2516.JPG

5 And here's the batter, ready to be baked at 180C for 30 minutes.
DSC_2517.JPG

6 I forgot to take a photo before it went into the oven, here it is about 5 minutes into 30.
DSC_2519.JPG

7 And 30 minutes later they're out of the oven. You may noticed I halved the recipe above, but I forgot to reduce the cooking time. The batter was quite thin in my baking case and I should have removed it from the oven about 5 to 10 minutes earlier. That's why my brownie has gone all wrinkly.
DSC_2520.JPG

Luckily, they are still edible and taste a bit better than they look. I had a piece with my coffee this afternoon and it wasn't that bad actually. By way, I'm still alive (obviously, coz I'm writing this post now!!!) so the two year old peanuts were fine.
DSC_2522.JPG


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

LOL.....good effort, but no vanilla and no cocoa and all that salt......but worst of all, you used the rest of the tin of condensed milk so hubby couldn't have his coffee without a trip to the shops!! Scandalous behaviour!

He did get to sample some really nice not bad brownies!!!

So many delicious yummies today :))) have to resteem it :) thanks for inspiring.

Posted using Partiko Android

教煮嘢食👍😋

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

first bread now brownies 正!

was exactly the type of brownie I was expecting sadly

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

This is a great post, so let me buy you a !BEER

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @livinguktaiwan, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Thank you @beerlover, I wonder what my brownies taste like with beer?

You got a 30.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @livinguktaiwan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.071 which ranks you at #1074 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 30 places in the last three days (old rank 1044).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 284 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70