I won the lottery!!!

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

In Taiwan we have something called the Taiwan Receipt Lottery. Every time we make a purchase either in store or online, we get a uniform invoice that looks like one of the two below. Occassionally they may look different such as the one at the bottom of the pile that is from a hotel.
DSC_1577.JPG

The invoice number has a standard format, 2 letters and a string of 8 digit numbers. Every two months the government does a lottery and draws 5 sets of 8 digit numbers and and 2 sets of 3 digit numbers. These are the uniform invoice winning numbers or better known as the Taiwan Receipt Lottery. The Special Prize is worth USD319k/NTD10m if the numbers on your uniform invoices matches all 8 numbers. Next is the Grand Prize worth USD64k/NTD2m, and then three First Prize each worth USD6.4k/NTD20k. If you don't match all of the 8 numbers for the First Prize, you might still win a smaller amount depending on how many digits you match. The least is 3 digits which wins you USD6.40 /NTD200, and you have 5 chances of winning that.

Here are the latest lottery results issued by the government.

2019-06-08 (2).png

I always keep my invoices, and every two months I check them on an app on my phone. All you do is punch is the last three digits, and hey presto on my 38th invoice a red message flashed up and said I may have won the minimum NTD200 or even the First Prize!!!
Screenshot_20190608-140613.png

I continued with the rest of my invoices. On the 64th invoice, a blue message flashed up that said Alert. I may have won the USD319k Special Prize! Wow! This might be my day. Upon a closer look, and this happens often with this app, it's not that I didn't match all 8 numbers, but this number isn't for the period I'm checking. And this is the worse thing about this app. It checks the winning numbers from the two previous draw and this number is for Jan and Feb, not March and April! Oh well, let's move on.
InkedScreenshot_20190608-140821_LI.jpg

I got three more of these false alarms, two relating to the Jan and Feb period again, and one that said I might have won the First Prize. Eventually I got through my stack of 109 invoices and all I won was the first one that flashed up.
Screenshot_20190608-141217.png

And how much did I win? Here's my winning ticket. I did win the lottery, this wasn't a clickbait!
DSC_1590.JPG


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

So how much is it, I can't tell :) . Dang and I thought you could just kick back and take it easy. What are you going to do with your winnings?

Posted using Partiko Android

I only matched the last three digits NTD200/USD6.40 not quite enough to put my feet up yet. I could get a Starbucks might even be able to stretch to a cookie if I'm lucky ^_^

I came with bells ....
Still it is a win... and here's to the decimal point moving to the right :)

Yes!!! A win is a win. Thanks 😊

What a great idea for a free government lottery! Loved the write-up amd don't let the money go to your head ;-)

Its only USD6.4, it needs to be a lot more than that!!!!

Thanks Nathen!

I love the Taiwanese lottery :D I tried using an all-Chinese app as well but never understood the messages, so I just checked every receipt manually. I won 200 NTD twice which paid for my last day in Taiwan :)

That's really good considering the short period of time you were here!

Ha! What a fun idea. You can turn that price in 18-20 STEEM, might feel like a better win :P

Posted using Partiko iOS

When you put it that way, it does sound quite a lot of money!

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Haha, congrats. I'd rather just get sales tax rebates or tax write-offs. A lotto seems like too much work.

Thanks! The whole checking proces only takes 5 minutes, so its not that bad. It's more of the fun and anticipation of winning, which of course you never do _

It does sound pretty neat actually.

Congrats:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations. After some show 3d and this. This must be your luck month.

ha ha!! I just need the prizes to roll bigger!

waakkakaka I remember going through my receipts in tw. congrats!!

vote later :)

it is quite fun! Did you win anything?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84