Logo Design Ideas For The New Steemit Open Mic DApp

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Work is continuing on the new DApp for Open Mic. @prc is doing most of the heavy lifting to get it off the ground. You can read more about that at Creating A New Dapp For Steemit Open Mic - Talks With @prc The Creator Of DSound

We will be naming the app D-OpenMic or DopenMic which I think is a pretty dope name. The tags to enter will stay the same; openmic.

So, we're bouncing a few ideas around for a logo. Here's a couple I came up with and would love to hear your suggestions. Will keep adding more over the next 7-days so check back. Would love to hear your input. Thanks.

Ideas For The D Open Mic DApp Logo


UPDATE

After posting this post @fingersik added a comment below:

If you were interested in sndbox running an artsy contest for your openmic dapp logo wecould discuss it over discord:).

Seems like we're going to move forward on that idea which is great. I look forward to seeing what other ideas some of the talented artists come up with for this logo design idea and the added exposure is good for everyone. I love Steemit for its ability to source pool talent around various projects. So cool.













EDIT: Added more after posting.



Which one do you like best?

If you're a designer and would like to submit your own design please feel free to do so.


Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness


vote-luzcypher-for-steem-witness.png

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

If you were interested in sndbox running an artsy contest for your openmic dapp logo wecould discuss it over discord:)

Interesting. Please send a PM invite to me on Discord

i contacted you

How about making it simple for anyone to create their own sub cyphers using this dapp? Or would it be better with more apps with just different tags that's focused on?

For example if the termite cypher grows a bit or if I'd want to start a swedish cypher. Would still be cool if they could be somewhat under the same dope'n'mic, even if you'd have to add new tags tags after consideration or whatever and keep the #openmic the main attraction! Just a thought!

On topic: I think I like the black mic logo best but they all look great :)

Not sure what you mean by cyphers. Could you explain?

Not sure either but if I've understood, your Dapp would take posts under the openmic tag and sort them by week number and other stats? If someone wants another "cypher"(In this case to me meaning a community around another challenge/reoccurring event) do you think it would be good if they could be found from the same Dapp?

Or should others just say grab your project from github and tweek it to use a more specific tag and say make every "cypher" go for a month instead or change the rules to 'Only Swedish' or 'Only on @termitemusic's jam beats'?

Hope this clears up my question otherwise I'm probably completely lost✌️

Our plan is to make it completely open source so other DApps could be created with it. Everyone is copying the Open Mic contest anyway, the greatest form of flattery. There have been literally dozens of music contests copying exactly what Open Mic has done for 114 weeks now.

Some have come and more have gone, but we are the longest running contest on Steemit. The original Open Mic. WhaleShares.io, a fork od Steemit has copied our idea and called it Open Mic Contest, there's Pitch Perfect, and so many others I can;'t keep track of them anymore.

This is all good for musicians and music is such a huge category. The whole idea of Open Mic is to help musicians on the blockchain so we will make it open source.

You can thank me and @prc by voting for us both for Steem witness and/or delegating to @openmic. You're welcome.

Thanks a lot for the answer, already had a vote for @prc and adding you now! Definately flattery to be copied, your contest will always be the first anyways. I actually entered week 67, maybe I'll join again this week! Good luck with the Dapp and everything :)

Thanks for voting for @prc. Didn't see your vote for me though. You may be still on the fence or just forgot. I addition to creating this app, I'm also working on a new site to better sort communities on the blockchain so users can find active, supportive communities faster. Will let you know when we release that.

You're right I started writing something and forgot. Thanks for the reminder put my vote before replying this time ^^ Sounds like good work and I've seen you around being active so you derseve it!

Thanks so much. I really appreciate your vote. We have some new things coming soon besides the Open Mic app so keep an eye out for announcements.

TThe Dopen Mic icon after your first two paragraphs is what I would choose. When this app launches I'm sure that the logo will eventually change over time...(like all apps do). Wtg Frank... miss you buddy.

You too man. Hanging out with @mikemeister and a bunch of other Steemians here. Going to Pai for a few days this weekend. Going to scout it out and possibly move there for a while.

added more logos. Will keep adding more so check back

Open-Mic Logo.png

This is my choice, however, it would be crazy-cool (dope) as it were - if the yellow center backdrop was a faded but discernably-subtle yellow image of your horned legacy logo...

...BOOM!

You mean something like this?

Yeah, sorta! I didn't envision the horn's coming out of the circle - but it's kinda cool that way... I think it might be better too - if the backdrop color remained in the brighter yellow tones (like those of a bright yellow Sun) - as it creates a better contrast against the red rim and the logo text... But yeah - that's my idea... See what everyone else thinks... The "Wisdom (vs. madness) of Crowd-Think" can be a wonderful thing!

The second one beneath is cool too! I might just embolden the "OPENMIC" text portion more to make the name stand out more... Hope that helps, brother - and have a great Holiday Season, Frank!

Thanks for your input. @prc also needs something readable in the tab when the site is opened so we may go with something entirely different. We'll see. I'm just glad it's moving forward.

These are splendid logos if you ask me, I will go with the guy playing guitar logo, and the microphone black and white logo.

Hi @luzcypher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.677 which ranks you at #123 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I really like the logo 2, because it speaks more clearly about the contest and the founder and the application they want to launch. I suggest that the last design be used as an additional signature, apart from the usual signature used here, because it is also quite good and it would be a shame to waste it.

I want to take this opportunity to ask a question. Will there be a contest in week 116 or will they have a Christmas holiday? I ask because I would like to participate in week 115 and 116, but I see that I am late because we are already in the month of December and I have not returned to work on my blog, and I am planning to do it this week and, among all that I am going to publish, I would like to publish these entries to the contest. Thank you!

Thanks for your input. Open Mic will continue through those weeks as usual. Look forward to your entry.

i was very exited to read this thank you good work

Hello @luzcypher, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for the upvote. We're about to launch an artist initiative sponsored by @sndbox to create a logo thanks to @fingersic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88