Earn Steem by: Delegation SP versus Selling Upvotes

in #busy6 years ago

image.png

I have been using minnowbooster to promote and earn crypto on steemit for more than 3 months. There are plenty of other upvote services out there but for me minnowbooster has been the easiest to learn and use.

This post is focus two services minnowbooster provides and the pros and cons to each. Delegating steem power and selling upvotes. Both services allow users to earn more steem and sbd but there are differences in payouts and returns on investment.

Delegating Steem Power

When steemians delegates SP to other users through minnowbooster they are leasing their SP for a certain amount of time for a steem payout. Minnowbooster becomes an escrow and collects steems from borrower while lender will receive daily steems for lending their SP. I like delegating SP through minnowbooster because they have simple list of %APR and duration of delegation.
Snapshot of current lending market:
image.png
The %APR currently ranges from 17% to 30%. Imagine every 100 SP you delegate you get 17 to 30 steems in a year! The more SP the greater the returns, however the %APR varies for each borrower.

I have noticed while steem prices fall the %APR usually will also fall. This makes sense because the upvote $ drops for every steem price drop. So currently I am not using delegation as I am awaiting for steem prices to rise again where %APR for leases can reach some where upwards of 40%!

Also users who delegate SP once un-delegated will have to wait a 7 day grace period before the SP is returned back to original owner. This means for 7 days the SP is unable to be used at all. Note minnowbooster's % APRs are calculated to include the 7 days grace period.

One of the most difficult things I have learned while delegating SP on steemit is to know when to un-delegate SP. This has to be done manually but at the very least minnowbooster will warn users when it is time to undelegate. They will send a memo and instructions on how to un-delegate. Which I find very helpful.

Selling upvotes

If steemians wanted to earn extra SBD but are not willing to give up on their SP they can setup selling their upvotes through minnowbooster. For every upvote sold through minnowbooster, minnowbooster will send seller SBD. The SBD users earn through selling upvotes are tracked on minnowbooster.net. Withdraw of SBD is a few clicks once you sign in through steemconnect.com. All the links and instructions can be found through www.minnowbooster.net

When selling votes the seller has the flexibility to sell as much upvotes as he or she wants by controlling they power bar. The power bar can be adjusted through minnowbooster. Also there is no 7 days grace period to deal with if one chooses to stop selling upvotes. The SP remains in owner's control at all times. If they wish to use it to do their own upvotes they can do so as they wish.

The flexibility of controlling my SP while earning extra SBD is my preference to be selling votes. With all the activities and personal life I have to attend to I do not have as much time as I wish to spend on steemit. Therefore selling my votes to earn something is better than nothing.

Drawback is I earn SBD which is currently a lot less than Steem. I was spoiled as when I first started steemit last year up to early 2018 the price of SBD was above or equal to Steem. Still I will take what I can get. There is an advantage of selling upvotes where seller will earn curation rewards. This in turn is like an automated upvote bought.

Basically every upvote I sell I will earn SBD and curation rewards. Often times the curation rewards are small but sometimes can be as high as a few cents in SP. This is because I get lucky and piggy-back other upvoters while selling my upvote to the buyer.

Conclusion is both delegating SP and selling upvotes can give you good earnings. This is a good way to grow your steemit account. The delegating will limit flexibility of use of one's SP but they have steem in return. While selling upvotes will earn mostly SBD but allow users to have more flexibility in how they want to use their SP.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23