ULOG 003; My third ulog entry- What usually bothers me don't bother me anymore

in #busy6 years ago

Hey faves💕💕
This is my third #ulog entry. For a few that don't know, the idea of #ulog as propounded by @surpassinggoogle is about blogging about you! How your day went, making you the celebrity! Pretty cool right? Yeah. Thank you @surpassinggoogle for this amazing platform. Today I'll be talking about #growth

So today would have passed as anyother day in this might what seems like a never ending holiday. I have just been waiting for the kit I ordered so I can start doing the cool stuffs I have planned.
However, in the course of the day, I came to the realisation of a certain growth that has occured in my life. The old me usually gets affected easily by a bunch of stuffs, even the most useless things. I used to let what people say or think get to me. It's not like I didn't know the truth, but when someone says contrary, I start to doubt the truth.
Lemme give you an instance, I know I'm a smart girl, like really intelligent. But when someone says or even implies the contrary or says a thing like "are you sure you can do this?" Or "you better leave it for the people that know what they are doing" or "you want to join when so and so person is already there, you'll just embarrass yourself." Stuffs like that get me to think less of myself, to devalue myself.
Most times this comes from people who are really close to me. The one that gets me angry at times is when a person would be like "wow, I'm surprised you know that" or "are you serious? You did this yourself?" Or "I'm impressed o, didn't see that coming especially from you" (like I'm dumb or what?) Another one is "awww, you know it!" Lol😅. Of course I know it 😩
So today, I was talking to a person, really close to me. And we were talking about my convocation that is coming up in October. (Ps. Convocation is what we call college graduation ceremony in Nigerian universities). And the person was like "are you sure you'll be a part of it?" I didn't get what they were driving at initially. My innocent mind thought they were asking if it will clash with law school so I answered "of course, law school is not till November." The person, obviously not satisfied with my response then said, "does anyone in your class have like a carry over or do they do let my people go?" It was now the message they were trying to pass got to me. I just shrugged and said "I don't know" and I wasn't bothered at all.
I was proud of my reaction to that. Normal me would have felt bad or something. Probably call someone to cry to and be in a bad mood for the rest of the day. The way I handled it was beyond me! I'm so pleased with myself.
So faves, I urge you guys to learn from me. Don't let anyone tell you you are not good enough or devalue you in anyway. You are God's masterpiece. Only one version of you exist. Be the best of you!
Check my next post for a video of a very inspiring message on how to not let these lies get to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75